Comparing kids

I always said I wouldn’t do it, but when Maelie made a classic Claire face yesterday, I couldn’t help myself. I compared kids.

Luca had similarities to Claire as a newborn, but he quickly shook those off when he was only a few weeks old. While I know Mae is only a few days old, it’s already clear she’s more Claire than Luca.

Shall we look at the facts?

Meet Maelie:

Now meet newborn Claire:

Scary, huh?

Time will only tell, but wow.

We just got home today and we’re all adjusting to life in general. Claire’s taken to big sister-hood (times two) very well. Much better than the first time around where all she yell was, “No baby! NOOOO!” Luca is doing as well as to be expected. He asks where the baby is, wants to beep the baby’s nose and says “Baby…cute!” I knew that’s how he’d be. He loves babies. And he’s processing his emotions in his own Luca way. Mainly by not listening and pitching small fits. But it’s been a lot better than I had prepared myself for. I think part of what makes it better for him is that he has a vocabulary. And a decent one at that. He is able to express himself to us in a way that Claire couldn’t.

Both the kids are sleeping now. They’re exhausted. I think it’ll take a few days, but I have a good feeling that we’ll all be back to our new normal very soon. As lame as it sounds, routine and schedule is what makes or breaks a new family. I live for my routine.

So here’s a few photos, as promised. Enjoy!

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on February 12, 2011, in Cassie and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I compare my kids. I love their similarities and I love their differences. You have a beautiful family. Congrats again!

  2. All five of you look absolutely amazing and precious. So happy to see and hear that everyone is doing so well with the new addition! And Miss Mae is an absolute doll!

  3. All I can do is smile, looking at these shots. You all look so happy! Which makes ME happy!

    Good luck with the New Normal.

  4. Maelie will be thrilled if she’s half as pretty as her sister (and she definitely already is!). I was remarking to Dana after looking at the Snapfish photos how pretty Clare is. You all look fantastic 🙂

    • And that should be Claire with an “i” – sorry, I know more Clare’s without the “i” so I’m used to typing it that way.

  5. First of all, you, ma’am, look fantastic. Just stunning.

    Second, what a beautiful family! I can’t wait to hear how the next few months unfold for you guys. I know it’s going to be awesome.

  6. I love the hospital photos…you look amazing and have a beautiful family. Cheers to the new normal!

Leave a Reply

