Oh how quickly we forget

1. I forgot that babies cry to let us adults know it needs something. Waa! I need food! Waa! I’m not being looked at! Waa! No one’s touching me! Waa! I think I have a gas bubble! Waa! Luca stuck a sticker on my nose! Thank God that’s not happening at my house. (Actually she hardly cries except for all of the above. And at 5 o’clock when Matt’s holding her.)

2. I forgot my boobs existed. Now they’re full of fun and aching to let the world know. Or just aching.

3. I forgot that my uterus had stretched to accommodate a baby the size of a small watermelon. Therefore, when it unstretches and tries to get back to normal size, it takes 9 months of aggression out on me in a week.

4. I forgot how easy it is to get up every 3 hours. After having weeks of insomnia, it’s much easier to get up, feed and change Mae then pass back out. I’m not saying I like it, but it’s better than what was.

5. I forgot how much my bladder hates me. Slap me in Depends and call me Alma.

6. I forgot how wonderful it feels to hold a little baby in my arms. To watch her little face move into expressions that can only be described as “Grumpy Old Man.” To know that I get to mold her into a little lady and help her grow up.

7. I forgot how good it feels to wear normal clothes and not feel like a whale. And it feels SO good to know that all my obsessive trips to the gym paid off because not only was my recovery a snap, but I feel like I look normal again. And for that, I’m proud of myself. (And yes, for the record, I was on the treadmill the day I went into labor.)

8. I forgot just how beautiful life can be. And has been, since I met Matt.

 

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on February 17, 2011, in Cassie and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Oh Cassie, this was such a beautiful post. You worked hard throughout your pregnancy to produce the stunning body-recovery you have. Kudos to you! And holding Mae in your arms, with no one else around can be a supreme joy. The photo here as well as your sentiments about Matt, show us what a real American family should be. I’m so happy for you!

  2. I think I needed to read this. And even though I know things will be tough once she’s born, it’s pretty amazing how well mommies can adapt, even to the painful and sleep deprived things.

    So jealous of your sleeping and “not-feeling-like-a-whale” status.

    • It’s tough, but worth it. You’ll do fabulously. And the best part of being a first time Mom is that the baby sleeps the majority of the time, giving you plenty of time to adjust and let those hormones flow.

      You won’t be a whale much longer 🙂

  3. You chicks are wonders of engineering, or as it might be more colloquially called, “Freaks of Nature.”

    Nah, the first one is better.

    I’d be mental too if I had that many moving parts.

  4. See?! We knew the insomnia had to have a purpose beyond just making you miserable!!

    Your family is so beautiful. I hope I have three such sweet small fries of my own one day 🙂

  5. What a beautiful family. Amidst all the crap, thanks for the reminder of how good life is.

  6. You have a beautiful family. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

