Dear Mr. Crosby

A few days ago Claire said, “Mama. I miss Crosby. I want the boo-boo on his brain to go away now.” Then stomped into the dining room to draw. She came back a few minutes later with a picture in her hand and said, “This should make him all better. I drew it for Crosby. What do you think?”

Well, I thought it was brilliant. But she’s my kid. With a really big heart.

So I sent an e-mail to the Penguins inquiring how I could send it to Crosby. The next day I got a phone call from a very helpful girl who gave me the address to Consol Energy Center and told me to send it to Sidney Crosby c/o The Pittsburgh Penguins (probably so that gives them permission to open it on his behalf.)

I had Claire dictate me a letter to him, too. Here’s what it said:

Dear Mr. Crosby,

Hi. My name is Claire Raelyn Conti and I am 3 years old. I miss you very much. I wear your jersey pretty much every day when Mommy lets me. I have two. One’s green.

I want your boo boo on your brain to go away, so I drew you a get well card. I hope you get better soon. I miss you.

Love, Claire

(And she attached a Thomas the Train sticker and wrote her name. Well, it was some squiggles.)

It goes out with the mail today.

It totally made her day. Here’s to hoping it makes Crosby’s, too.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on February 23, 2011, in Cassie and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. What a sweet, caring kid. And awesome drawing!

  2. Rachel's Cottage House

    Haha! That is the cutest thing I’ve heard or seen in a while! She is so sweet. As a person very closely linked to the Pittsburgh Penguins franchise and its players, I am sure this will go over very well. Sid will appreciate it. The other guys will probably end up hearing about it also, and it will be the locker room talk for a few days. Tell your daughter I appreciate her work for our friend. -Rachel

    • I sure hope so! How cute would that be? She LOVES the Pens. Any time she sees someone wearing a Penguins shirt, she tells the person, “I love your shirt!” And when she sees busses, she says, “It says, ‘Let’s go Pens!'”

  3. Awww… So much cute. I’m turning into a pillar of sugar, as we speak.

    I predict you hear back from Sid.

    BTW, any idea what the picture is?

  4. Is that a rorschach test? If so, I clearly see Matt Cooke checking Alex Ovechkin clear over the boards, leaving Sidney all by himself with a breakaway to the net.

  5. Yes, I can see that the big one is either a cloud or a winking lion.

  6. What a thoughtful child!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog! And those party potatoes? Sound Amazing!

  7. *tear* Sweetest granddaughter in the world…that is until Mae does something to top it 🙂

  8. She pooped a couple times and burped…

  9. Look, if that doesn’t make him feel better, then he’s dead. It’s just that simple.

    You can tell Claire that when I was a small fry, I wrote a letter to President Reagan, and I got back a book about the White House. It was pretty cool!

  1. Pingback: A follow up « Sisters From Different Misters

Leave a Reply

