How life has changed: a pictorial overview

Last time we saw me, I looked like this:

(Ignore the stretch marks. Those were all courtesy of Claire. Thanks, girl!)

Now I look like this:

(That’s the shirt Matt got me for having Mae. I wanted that shirt. I didn’t want diamonds, pearls or money. I wanted THAT SHIRT. It’s so cool.)

So I’m back to my normal size, just with some extra jiggles. Nothing makes me more happy and sad at the same time than when I’m brushing my teeth and my belly jiggles. Just from brushing my teeth. I’m happy because I had a baby. I’m sad because my belly is jiggling from brushing my teeth.

But I got this:

(Hey boys! Here’s looking at you!)

Mae has many faces:

Suspect.

Pathetic.

Poopie!

Sometimes cooking dinner is easy. Maelie will be sleeping, the kids’ll be downstairs playing hockey or creating general mayhem and I’ll have Pandora on playing Ray LaMontagne and the like. It can be quite relaxing.

Then there are days like last night where Luca wants “down” (meaning up) and Maelie is feeling lonely. Thus we get this:

That’s when we have a fish stick and french fries dinner. I at least made the fries from actual potatoes. Then I realized that we had fries in the freezer. I was mildly perturbed.

Life isn’t too much different, actually. Right now, I’m in the phase where I can’t really go anywhere, because where I’d go daily was the gym and I can’t bring Maelie there until she’s 6 weeks old and I still am supposed to be ‘taking it easy.’

So I painted our dining room.

Today Mae is two weeks old. And she’s holding her head up like she’s a few months old. Clearly she ate her Wheaties.

Don’t believe me?

We’ve ventured out, just the four of us, while Matt’s at work, and it went fine. I thought it through very closely before Maelie was born. I carry Luca on my left hip, hold the baby carrier in my right hand and have Claire hold onto the carrier. By having Luca on my hip, it kind of counterbalances the awkwardness of baby carriers.

I have no doubt that a man designed baby carriers. I don’t know how anyone can carry that without swearing.

Oh, and side note: yesterday I was going to Giant Eagle to quickly pick up a gift card for a friend. When we were going down an aisle, hoping to get the “Expecting or new mothers” spot a woman stopped, backed up and took the spot. So I had to park elsewhere. When I was walking past her, she looked at me and smiled and I said, “Obviously you needed that spot a lot more than me.” As I’m toting all my children. CLEARLY with a new baby.

I hope she felt bad since she was 40, fit and without children.

Sorry, that’s just my HUGE pet peeve. They have those spots for a reason. And I never used it until I had Claire out of me. Never when I was just pregnant.

Anywho. That’s my life now. We’re listening to some Bob Marley and Mae is in her swing, Claire is playing hockey and Luca is dancing.

It’s all good.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on February 24, 2011, in Cassie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Look at those big eyes!!! What a precious, beautiful girl.

    And I LOVE that photo of you, Luca and Mae! You look amazing! 🙂

  2. You are handling the 3 kids much better than I do. Seriously. Of course, I’ve got 10 years on you and feel the need for a nap, even with just 1 all day. :o)
    Everyone always said my kids all look alike,but they got nothing on yours. They all have those big Cassie eyes. They’re gorgeous.
    People using special parking spots that don’t need them – really irritates me too. I only used them in the last 2 months of Louie’s pregnancy and for a few months after he was born. Once he was out of the baby carrier, I left those for the moms that need them. I realize it’s a courtesy and not a law, like the handicapped parking, but people these days are just so self-centered and inconsiderate. It gets hard to bite your tongue all the time.
    Anyway, my needy 2 year old is beckoning. I’m so happy for you!

  3. Oh and what does the shirt really say? You look awesome, but it’s distracting me because I need to know and can’t read it.

  4. It says PGH with a heart. It’s the Pittsburgh skyline. He got it from this site: http://www.cottonfactory.com/

    Love their stuff.

  5. Those EYES!! She looks just like you!

  6. I’m glad you said something to the parking spot vulture.

  7. Those big eyes slay me. She’s a cutie.

    I used the “mommy” spaces when I was pregnant with Michael, and getting the kids out of the car. And I use them a bit now if I’m out with M.

    Going places with three kids isn’t as hard as I thought it would be. It’s not something I necessarily look forward to, but I can do it with a fair amount of confidence.

    And, yes, those early eves when the baby sleeps, and you can actually make a real meal for everyone else: those are like magic.

    Congrats again, and good luck!

  8. Mae is just adorable with those gorgeous eyes, and you look fabulous! I don’t know how you manage it all, Cassie, but then I don’t remember how I managed it all way back when. I would have gone for the frozen fries in a heartbeat! Love the photos. Keep them coming. 🙂

Leave a Reply

