I want to ride my bicycle, I want to ride it where I like

It doesn’t really surprise me much that Mae fits right into our lives as if she’s always existed. Claire has taken to being a big sister as I had expected and Luca is enjoying gouging out Maelie’s eye balls when she’s sleeping. I know I have to intervene when I hear Luca saying, “Ears! Nose! EYES!!!” He likes to poke every thing he says. I try to get there before he says eyes and he typically goes in the same order, which is fortunate.

Luca also now can count to 6. The other day it was 4. While I like to sit here and pat myself on my back because my 21 month old can count to 6, I can’t. It’s Claire and Nick Jr. But at least he can do it, right? I know for a fact I taught Claire the alphabet. Sure, she thinks an R is a P sometimes. What you gonna do, right? I have some problems with dyslexia. So sue me.

Yup. I’m slightly dyslexic. So is my Mom, I think. Is that hereditary?

I also think Mae is still angry with Matt for the times he would put his mouth right up to my belly and yell, “BABY! WHAT ARE YOU DOING?!” 95% of the time that Matt has her, she looks at him and yells. It’s short lived, and hilarious, but I think she’s smarter than a normal newborn.

In order to calm her down when she’s overtired, we turn to Ray LaMontagne. I have three of his CDs on my computer, however after listening to them in their entirety every day, it’s starting to wear on me. I love Ray. Love me some Ray. But – I need some new Ray. So I sent an e-mail to Carly asking for her entire Ray collection and throw in some Joe Purdy for good measure. If she’s a good sister, she’ll show up with her external hard drive and a smile for her birthday dinner next weekend. Hint, hint.

My kids like music. Not only do they like music, but they appreciate music. I know I’ve mentioned how Claire will request Bob Marley daily, but it never ceases to amaze me that she likes him. Sure, I play him, so it’ll grow on her, but still.

When I was a kid, my Mom would play a lot of different music, but there were always the staples: Toad the Wet Sprocket, Fleetwood Mac, Queen and Alanis Morisette. There were others, but those are what I remember. And to this day, there’s not one song from the aforementioned artists that I can’t sing every word to.

Oh, and Van Morrison still makes me feel warm and fuzzy.

I feel, though, after my Mom gave me such a good music vocabulary that I’ve somewhat ruined it on my kids. Here’s why:

Luca requests “Paparazzi” every time we get in the car because a.) he knows the words to it and can sing along as the song plays and b.) he knows it’s in the car at all times.

He’s not even 2 and I’ve opened his eyes to the world of Lady Gaga.

I’m not sure if I should be proud or smacked. Jury’s out.

Claire loves Bob Marley, The Fray, and George Harrison.

Luca loves Lady Gaga, Beyonce, Spoon, and the Thong Song.

Maelie loves Ray LaMontagne, David Gray, Joe Purdy, Counting Crows, and Damien Rice.

The funny part about all of this is I can clearly see where I’ve grown with each child. Claire is my Toad the Wet Sprocket phase, Luca is my Queen phase and Maelie is my Fleetwood Mac phase.

I still listen to Toad every other day. It’s just that powerful what we’re raised on.

I’m just afraid what Luca will continue to listen to. He’ll be that 6 year old in kindergarten singing, “She’s got dumps like a truck, truck, truck, thighs like, what, what, what, baby move that butt, butt, butt…”

And Matt’ll blame me because, of course, it’s my fault. Totally.

But he break dances. And it’s SO DAMN CUTE. Right now he’s wearing my Jackie O sunglasses and saying, “Luca so hot!” I don’t see anything wrong with that.

I mean, my daughter wears her Crosby shirt daily and when I say, “Claire, come here,” she’ll say, “Um, my name is Crosby.” And when she grows up she wants to be a Firefighting garbage man. I don’t ask questions.

Now please excuse me, because “Bicycle Race” by Queen just came on and I need to educate my kids further.

 

 

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on March 3, 2011, in Cassie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. mrsbachelorgirl

    There’s TOTALLY a market for firefighting garbage men. Claire will be a millionaire.

  2. Yes, dyslexia is hereditary. Your grandpa Marty has some issues, too. I’m slightly dyslexic with numbers on a regular basis.

    Isn’t it fun to see your kids’s differences? Love it!

  3. Your kids, even Mae, have way more musical sophistication than I did at their age. All I listened to was “The Cow Goes Moo” and Ernie singing “Rubber Ducky.”

  4. We grew up on Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass, Simon & Garfunkel, and the Hair soundtrack.

    It wasn’t long after that I began exposing my folks to MY music and surprisingly, it took.

    Once my dad heard ZZ Top’s LaGrange, he went from “Turn that shit down” to “Hey, crank that up!”

  5. My parents raised me on Pink Floyd and Aerosmith. To this day I love both bands and Pink Floyd reminds me of dozing off at night time. This kiddo will most likely be comforted by The Beatles and Better Than Ezra. Can’t wait to see what she takes to!

Leave a Reply

