A birthday in photos

We celebrated Auntie’s birthday yesterday (a day late) and it felt really good to have everyone around again. Carly used to live in the apartment behind mine for a few years and with having shared a room with her for, well, forever, I’m used to her being around. But now, life calls and she’s got both a full time job and a boyfriend, but she lives a million miles away. OK, so it’s only like 40 or something, but it still sucks.

Typically I go all out and make signs and appetizers and stuff, but earlier in the day I said goodbye to a friend for the last time and there’s just something about a funeral that puts a damper in the day.

I needed this birthday party.

So here we go.

You’d never guess who picked out Mae’s onsie that day. Never.

Oh the faces Maelie will make when Auntie makes funny sounds. This is a classic Carly face from her infancy.

Carly’s gifts were wrapped extra special this year: ours was wrapped in a Giant Eagle bag colored by Claire and Mom wrapped hers in the Sunday funnies. We’re resourceful.

Auntie modeling off the apron I made her. (Now, BG, how’s that for fashion?)

Claire insisted on 10 candles. Apparently because 2 + 8 = 10. And Auntie turned 28. Hmm.

Now, I know I make a mean apple pie, but apparently Ben thought it was so good that he didn’t realize that I took maybe 15 photos of him eating the pie.

Claire said the pie was beautiful.

Yup. We have 3 kids, and are TOTALLY mature. Totally.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, life is SO hard at this age. So hard. (Ignore the fact that my nose looks HUGE.)

All in all, it was an awesomely fun afternoon into evening. We watched the Pens lose, watched Auntie open up fun gifts, ate a hot dish that has Minnesota written all over it, enjoyed a delicious apple pie, and the kids successfully wore Ben out. I think if I remember correctly, he asked me, out of breath mind you, “How do you do this everyday?”

And then, to top it all off, today Mae gave me her first smile that didn’t involve gas, poop or screaming:

 

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on March 13, 2011, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. LIKE LIKE LIKE LIKE LIKE LOVE šŸ™‚

  2. Tracy Haraldson

    Totally awesome blog and photos! Love you!

  3. Love the little Pens onesie… and the expressions! That second pic has “Caption Contest” written all over it.

    Then just when I thought things couldn’t get any cuter, you drop that last picture on us.

    Happy Birthday, Carly!

  4. Happy Birthday Auntie!

    And I love Mae’s faces. Totally makes my day when you post them on FB. What and awesome, kooky family you have. I hope we can have at least half as much fun!

  5. Happy birthday, Carly!

    Cassie, you did an amazing job on her apron!!

Leave a Reply

