30 day challenge

Hello. My name is Cassie and I’m a glutton for punishment.

I crack myself up, for real. Saturday night I sat on the couch, comfortable, propped with pillows and watched the first exercise segment of 30 Day Shred. I distinctly remember looking at Matt and saying, “This doesn’t look hard at all. I’m sure I’ll breeze through this.”

Let’s step back for a moment and remember this nugget. Here’s an excerpt:

I popped in the DVD, I Want That Body by Tamilee Webb. I had previously done her ab workout years back when I had on demand. Sure I was 20, skinny, relatively in shape and hadn’t had kids yet. But I vaguely remembered I hated myself for a few days after the work out. This should be fun, I thought.

So clearly, I’ve been delusional once before. I’m good at this.

Continuing on:

Tamilee then says, “I love lunges, because they work!” to which I said, “I hate you.”

I’m completely out of breath and can barely see straight (I’m being slightly dramatic) when she says, “Back to the beginning, squats.” Now, I may be near death at this point, but my mind is sharp. “Is she fucking kidding me?” Matt, who has since moved on to working on his computer says, “I’m pretty sure she’s not.” One more set…you can do it. You went through basic training, damnit, this is nothing!

This is a flashback in such a major way. Except this time, I hate Jillian a lot more. She does half the work out because she’s clearly looking for other things to talk about. Now I know she’s in excellent shape and deserves the body she has, but when I’m sweating and she’s talking about ‘phoning it in to the gym,’ I want to smack her.

I don’t phone jack into the gym. I work it.

Yet, it amazes me that I can run miles and miles and miles, yet 20 minutes with Jillian, I want to die. It sucks. However, a friend of mine decided she was going to do the challenge with me. She lives in the DC area, so we just sort of report in to each other that we have successfully killed ourselves for the day.

Unity is wonderful.

This morning, I took my measurements and put them in a notebook. Ouch. I can’t wait to see how it’ll change.

Only 27 more days.

Looking forward to day 10. Let’s go!

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on March 16, 2011, in Cassie and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Oh yes. I don’t care how badass you are, 30 Day Shred is HARD. Seriously, I’m surprised the military doesn’t use it to punish new recruits who break the rules.

    I’ve owned the DVD for, like, two years now, and I’ve never been able to do Level 3 without barfing.

  2. I remember when I used to have energy. Then I sit down and get over it.

  3. I discovered that I’m really not coordinated enough to do most of those moves… especially with a cat constantly trying to run under my feet or get on my stomach the whole time. And a lot of those moves nearly broke my knees. But, after my body sort of adjusted to it I felt stronger!

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

