Yes, but are you crazy?

Imagine if you will a room filled with a hundred lit tea light candles. It’s warm, inviting, and dinner is cooking in the kitchen. In the center of this room there is a small round table set for two. A single red rose sits in a vase in the center of the table and a bottle of Pinot Noir is uncorked and waiting.

Now imagine me in this room in sweat pants.

Fast forward to earlier in the day. My best friend, Ian, called saying he was desperate for help shopping for his Mother’s Christmas gift. It was the day before my 21st birthday, so I figured with desperation came a free lunch.

Matt and I had been together for just over a year and he had since left TGI Fridays for the job he now has. Accounting, money, numbers, you know…boring. Any who, he didn’t want to come with us to the mall, even though I practically begged, so I left the apartment on a sour note.

At the mall, Ian was being difficult. Rather, he was being annoyingly difficult. He couldn’t pick a gift for his Mom. He took me to ten different stores, obviously ignoring all of my suggestions, and decided on a weather station for her living room. This took hours. HOURS. I’m not even close to exaggerating. At the time, I only wished I was.

On the drive home he drove like a grandma. He said it was because he doesn’t like talking on his cell phone and driving at the same time. Honestly, I didn’t know why it was imperative that he speaks to his father about tractor supplies, but that’s Ian for you. Not to mention the most boring half conversation I’ve ever heard.

He pulled up to the front of my apartment and I offered him to come in. He said he had dinner plans and had to run and seemed really awkward. I started nagging him about who the girl was and he ignored me and drove off.

When I walked into the front door it all made sense. The room looked gorgeous and dinner smelled fantastic. I put my coat in the closet and smiled at the room. Matt had cooked me dinner for my birthday! And he went all out! This was totally not like him, so I decided to just go with the flow. I went into the bedroom and put on sweats and a t-shirt and had not a thought in the world.

Dinner was great but Matt seemed quiet. At this point in our relationship, he had learned how to speak up. I figured he was tired from what obviously was a whirlwind afternoon. I was gone for only three hours and in that time he managed to clean, cook and light a hundred tea lights. Not to mention he’s a touch OCD when it comes to, well everything, so I’m sure everything was perfectly detailed.

At this point, I was feeling good and buzzed because wine goes straight to my head. I was enjoying myself, though. I can’t remember a time when someone did something like this for me, so I was going to enjoy the moment. Plus, I wouldn’t have to do dishes. Score!

After dinner, Matt went and got my birthday present. It was the brown suede coat I wanted from H&M which was awesome because it was super expensive and never thought I’d get it. It was the kind of coat that gets tried on in the store, sighed at and then hung back up. It’s fancy. And it was mine. Best birthday, ever!

Then it got interesting:

Matt: Go ahead, try it on!

Me: OK! (the coat was heavy, I was slightly tipsy so I almost fell over)

Matt: Isn’t it great? It has pockets and everything!

Me: Well no duh, Matt, it’s a coat, all coats have poc…(this is where I trailed off because when I stuck my hand inside the pockets, in the left one was something round, pointy and heavy.)

Matt: (who was now on one knee) Go ahead, take it out.

Me: You didn’t.

Matt: Cassie, you are amazing. You make me a better person. I want to be with you forever. Will you marry me?

Me: Are you crazy?

Matt: Um?

Me: Of course I will!

Then kissing and cheering ensued.

Of course the ring was perfect. I even remember telling Matt that the ring he got was too big. Of course I loved the ring, but holy cats this thing had to cost a pretty penny. And while I know I should care more about how much it was, I didn’t because our bank accounts were joined yet. All I know is that he sent off payments each month for a year, and in that time we could have owned half a BMW. I joke. I think.

And yes, I seriously asked him if he was crazy. For those of you who have met me, it makes sense. For those who haven’t, trust me.

So there’s the story. My husband isn’t the least bit romantic, so this in itself amazed me. Especially after the whole Valentine’s day debacle including the words, “I just didn’t feel like doing anything.” That was awesome. And mentioned every single time I get the opportunity. I’m mean. But he started it.

This year we will celebrate 5 years of being married. If he hasn’t divorced me yet, I doubt it’ll happen. He’s kind of stuck with me now. Plus I cook better than his mother. Or at least that’s what I tell myself. Not to mention I lay out his vitamins for him every night and fold his underwear. If that’s not love, I don’t know what is.

 

 

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on March 31, 2011, in Cassie and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. This literally made me cry. It’s so sweet! And so is that picture. What a beautiful bride and a thoughtful, amazing husband.

    (And ok, baby hormones might have factored into those tears).

  2. Awwww! That is so sweet. 🙂 I have a smile plastered to my face like an idiot. I’m reading the first paragraph and get to the sweats part it was all smiles from there, from comical to sweet. Love that picture. Claire looks exactly like you. 🙂 Thanks for posting!

  3. I can’t believe you made him leave his dream job at TGI Friday’s to become an accountant so he could afford to get you the Hope Diamond. What some guys will do…

  4. Oh, yes, Ms. Thang… I know you and your response makes total sense – ha! I can’t believe it will be five years this August. Wow!

  5. Such a great story….and gorgeous photo of the two of you!

  6. Oh, God, I’m reading this at my in-laws’ house and crying. CRYING!

    You were such a beautiful bride, Cassie. Just stunning.

Leave a Reply

