adult assignments. who knew?

Some time last year, my Mom asked if I could do a DVD review for her blog and then she’d give it away. I thought it would be fun, an assignment, if you will. You can read it here if you’d like. That’s the first one I’ve done. It was fun, and as an added bonus, the trainer in the DVD sent me a tee and an aluminum water bottle. I love that tee and I use that water bottle every day at the gym, so super thanks Kara!

I’ve reviewed several since then. I’ve done Cardio Strip Tease and even have a Belly Dancing one waiting for me, and it will continue to wait for me, because I have standards of embarrassing myself, you know. My Mom picks the photos that go on her blog and I’m still a touch dumbfounded as to why she used this one:


I look irritated or confused. Or both. Because being confused can be irritating. Oh, and Claire is wearing one of Mom’s long sleeve tees as pants because it turned cold when we were hunting for Easter Eggs. Clearly, we’re geniuses.

A lot of people read my Mom’s blog. Waaaaaaay more than this little blog’ll ever see. So it’s pretty cool that I get to do this.

Today I got to review an Angie Miller DVD. It’ll go up on Sunday, but let me just say, I love my job. I love how Mom gets these DVDs and then passes them along to me, or Carly, and we get to have our way with it. I get to try them out, say what I liked and didn’t like, feel like I’m heard, and then Mom gives it away to some lucky person who will hopefully enjoy it as much as I did. Plus I get to burn calories. For fun! I burn calories for fun. And I get to swear at complete strangers! Because, obviously, I don’t sweat because I’m just sitting there. And swearing at trainers is what I do. I’m pretty sure Jillian Michaels welcomes it.

I look at it as an assignment. That way, it’s only an hour of work, not an hour of sweating my ass off. (I mean that both literally and figuratively. Zing!) That way, I’m not just feeling my thighs about to fall off, but I’m analyzing how the trainer motivates and the level of difficulty the choreography is. Then, when the 45 minutes is up, I’m sweating, a little stronger and I have a blog for Mom.

My Mom is also secretly facilitating my health whether she knows it or not. It’s every mother’s dream. Here, Sweetie. Here’s a new exercise workout to try! Go sweat some and feel good! And then I gobble it up because I’m an exercise junkie, you see, so we both win. Mom’s daughter is healthy and I’m getting my addictions fed. And today Mom fed my addiction with a new Pilates DVD. Double win.

I’m sick.

But I take my assignments seriously. I’m a mostly stay at home mother of 3. I need to do something that isn’t baby talk and crayons. This is it. I’m good at working out. I can squat with the best of them. And I like to sweat. I enjoy the endorphin party after. Most of all, I like to think that others may benefit from me writing about it.

A girl can dream.

I mean, seriously. By me actively doing the 30 Day Shred for 30 straight days, I wrote about it on Facebook. And my friend Liz did it virtually with me, so we corresponded via Facebook. People saw it. People asked about it. And some people even tried it. Hey Aunt Emily! You rock! And that makes me feel good.

I’m an avid review reader. I won’t buy something until I’ve read others’ opinions. I’m pretty sure I’m not alone in that. So I like to help others, too. It’s in my nature, dammit. I’m a carer.

And an exercise junkie. But we’ve covered that already.

In other news, Claire is locally famous! Sort of. Her cute little Crosby letter made it on one of my favorite blogs, That’s Church. Go have a read.

When I showed that to Claire she said, “That’s me! That’s not your blog. I’m out there! That’s so cool!”

It was cute. So thanks, Ginny.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on April 15, 2011, in Cassie, working out and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Awesome assignments! Any suggestions for easing back into workouts again?

    • When your OB gives you the a-OK, I suggest low impact exercises like the elliptical, walking and yoga. Just be careful, because those ligaments are still loose, up until you’re 6 or 8 weeks postpartum, depending on if you’re breastfeeding or not. Also – watch your bleeding. If it increases within an hour after exercise, you probably did too much. That’s always a good gauge as to how you’re doing. I’d be happy to help you when you’re ready!

  2. I’m rocking it! I’ve missed two days (non-consecutively), so my final 30th day is Sunday, May 2nd. Not too bad considering I worked out every day I was sick, except for the sickest day. I’m feeling good and strong and still like plank jacks! You can have the chair squats with flying V’s… oh GOD I hate those. HATE.

  3. You’re the Roger Ebert / Rotten Tomatoes of exercise DVDs, huh? You need a rating system like 3 water bottles, or 2 tread mills.

    And yes, Claire is SO out there!

  4. I have a question, a serious and burning question: How do I fit in exercise? Honestly, Cassie, I don’t know how to do it. And I need to — I have no tone, and gravity and being a mom are taking their toll. Not to mention the weather. I’m in a beach wedding this October.

    Here are the complicating factors:

    3 kids, one of whom is 4 months old;
    I work 40 hours a week, with a half-hour commute to and from. I don’t take a lunch at all, so working out on my lunch 1/2 hour isn’t an option.
    No backup kid care — my husband works until 9 p.m. most nights, and Saturdays.
    A budget tighter than Scarlett O’ Hara’s corset.

    HALP.

    • That’s tough. I’ve reviewed a bunch of DVDs that are 60 minutes, but are all of 10 or 15 minute block segments. If you can find at least 20 minutes to dedicate a few days a week, I’d highly recommend doing something like Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred, Tamilee Webb I Want That Body DVD, Tracey Mallett’s Get Your Body Back or Angie Miller Crave Results.

      Depending on your fitness level, I’d say Tamilee is great for beginners and she gets you toned quick. Tracey Mallett is phenominal, too. I just reviewed her new Pilates DVD and it’s nice, but it’d take a while to see results. Jillian is crazy and is a real sweat-fest for the 20 minutes you spend with her. I saw huge changes with her and still do her workout 3 times a week.

      Plus, with it being a DVD, you can do it regardless of the weather. I also invested in a jogging stroller, which was wonderful – until I had a third kid.

      I buy my DVDs off of Ebay or Amazon.com pretty cheaply. My collection is borderline embarassing.

      When I was doing the 30 Day Shred challenge, I posted it on Facebook, which ultimately kept me accountable. People love to see a failure, you know? I didn’t want to give them the satisfaction.

      I hope this helps..

      • I used to be in *great* shape. The advantage I have now is that I am naturally skinny. (People don’t believe I have a 4 month old infant — although these people also do not see me naked…)

        I think I will check out the Tamillee, plus I do have some other DVDs at home with 10 minute segments on them. I just have to do it — which means getting up even earlier I think. Maybe I can do it after work/dinner with the kids, too, a little bit. I’m going to shoot for two to three times a week at first. we would be taking walks in the evening if the weather didn’t suck balls. (oh, sorry.)

        I just have to start doing *something*. Gah, I can’t stand feeling so out of shape! Thanks for the feedback.

        Now, want to start giving me wake up calls at 5:30 a.m.????? 😉

      • Ha. My butt isn’t out of bed at that hour! The way I look at it is that I need some “me” time. It makes it more doable.

        And I hear you about the naked thing. I may look skinny, but my body’s seen better days.

  5. Typically speaking, how many weeks postpartum is it before you can exercise?

    • Depends. In my case, being as I was on the treadmill the day I went into labor, I could start back up within a few weeks. It depends on your bleeding and if you had a complicated birth or not. If everything goes beautifully, then by 6 weeks you can get back at it. Unless your doc says otherwise. I waited until 4 with Luca and with Mae I was back at the gym by day 8. I waited to run until she was about 3 weeks old.

Leave a Reply

