Mae-Mae, Moo-Moo, Mee-Maw, Mae-Moo, Maelie-Mae

Dear Miss Mae:

Only 10 weeks old and already you’re you. You’ve got spunk. You’ve got personality. You’ve got smiles. Because of you, our family feels complete.

Luca and Claire love the stuffing out of you. Claire tends to you like I would, by giving you your Nuk, singing you songs and playing peek-a-boo. She loves to hold you and love you. Luca loves to get in your face and yell, “Mae-MOO! MAE-MOO!!” It makes him happy. And you make him happy.

So far, Daddy is the only one who can get you to laugh. I can get a crack here and there, but he gets you giggling. I think it’s the beard. And it’s unfair. But Daddy just has that way about him. He’s a funny guy.

I feel complete. Because of you. And I know that’s a lot of feelings for one little girl to have on her, but there it is. I love all of my children equally, but you’re it. You’re my baby. You’re the final piece of our puzzle. You, Miss Mae, will be my last baby. And you’re the best baby I could have ever asked for.

I get sad sometimes, thinking that I won’t ever have a new baby in my arms that I felt kick and squirm in my belly for 9 long months, but then I realize that I wouldn’t be a good Mom to that baby. I am a good Mom to Claire and Luca and I will be a good Mom to you, Mae, because that’s what you guys deserve. A good Mom.

I love you. I love you so much that sometimes it hurts. I think about how you’re going to be sitting on your own soon, then crawling, then walking…and then I look at your face and I’m brought back to the here and now. You’re here now. Eyes searching, drooly mouth, soft coos. My baby. My beautiful, beautiful baby.

Never forget that.

There will be times when I seem unfair or mean. There will be times when you just don’t get it. And sometimes you’ll think that I  just don’t get it. But please remember that I love you more than you’ll ever know. All the time. When you have children of your own, you’ll understand. And you, too, will have that overwhelming feeling – Like your heart is going to swell and explode.

You’re beautiful, Maelie. You’re perfect. You are the best thing right now. And right now is all right.

So go ahead. Grow up. But be strong. Be smart. Be you. Because who you are, is the best part of all.

Love,

Mama

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on April 20, 2011, in Cassie and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Yup. Just…yup. I get it. You, my darling, are my baby, too 🙂

  2. I feel the same way about Louie – he made us complete. You’re such a good mom!

  3. That?

    Is a beautiful face! Who can look at that face without smiling?!

  4. I totally could have written this post for Michael. I feel exactly the same way about him. Although I can make him laugh the most.

    Man, I just love those big baby-girl eyes. She’s a doll.

  5. Love the new layout! Such a sweet post and a beautiful baby girl!

  6. I’m literally crying now. I feel the same way about Sarah. Except I’m not quite sure our family is complete yet. 🙂

    But it’s just so absolutely amazing… the love! I can’t wait to hear her first giggle.

    That’s one cute kid you have there!

Leave a Reply

