How I lost two days of my life

My old kitchen faucet was corroding. I’d love to say I was exaggerating, but I really wasn’t. One afternoon while cleaning up, I noticed that I could stick my finger through the bottom of it.

So I bought this fancy schmancy new one:

Too bad the rest of my kitchen didn’t fit. I had been wanting to repaint the cabinets because they were looking gross and the knobs were really lame, but I just lacked the ambition. Then I figured now was the best time.

So I went to Lowes armed with my gift cards (thanks, Discover Card!) and bought paint, sandpaper, handles and brushes. I couldn’t find where they kept the sanity, so I had to put a raincheck on that.

Two days later, this is what I have:

The color of the cabinets are oddly the same color as Mae’s eyes. Perhaps that’s why I chose it. Either way, I’m done. It looks great and I’m happy. Sure, I have no counter space still, but my kitchen and I are like a well oiled machine. Sure, the counter tops aren’t granite and the back splash is a little shoddy, but I love it. I make it work. And now it fits the rest of our house, which, not so surprisingly, is contemporary.

And it was all free.

Who says being chic has to be expensive?!

I’m still missing my sanity, though. As is Matt. He had some choice words for me after I asked him to drill the final handle holes at 8:30 at night. Oh well. He married me. (Which he said he’s used to my demands. I’d hardly call them demands…more like requests. That are stated sternly.)

I did, however, get to fit in two days of friends, which is nice. Yesterday I went to my old neighbors’ house. They moved a mile down the road and took custody of Moose the cat. He used to be our cat, then we shared custody when they were next door, but when they moved, I let them have him. He seems happy and spoiled.

Today was Bluz’s Bag ‘O Fish Fry. And can I just say that seeing Tony is like seeing an old friend whom I have known forever? Bluz, if you ever want to move back to Pittsburgh, you’ve got a friend. It was great seeing all of you who came out! And it was nice to meet new people, too!

Of course, I left my camera at home. I packed it up and everything. But I grabbed Maelie instead. And the dessert.

Priorities, people.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on May 30, 2011, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Great job on the cabinets! Really like the color. Doesn’t it feel so good to improve your surroundings? Nice!

  2. I LOVE IT!! Great job!!

    Questions:

    1. What is the paint color?
    2. Did you paint the insides of the cabinets?
    3. Where did you get that terrific rug?!

    • It’s called black forest or something like that. It’s Olympic brand. It dried so much nicer than I had ever anticipated. I may be nuts, but I’m not that crazy! I’d never paint the inside. It’d get scratched up so fast. The rug is from Tarjay (Target) and I can actually wash it in the washing machine (front loader) even with it having a rubber bottom.

  3. I LOVE it. I’m so impressed that you just did it. I see a project like that as overwhelming, thus it gets put off over and over again…

    Can’t wait to hear about the fish fry!

    • If I set my mind to doing something, I do it. Otherwise I think about it nonstop. And I don’t know which is worse…the procrastination or the act of doing something overwhelming.

  4. I have pictures to email to you! And I like your kitchen. Looks very cool. I wish a coat (or two) or paint and a polka dot rug would do anything for my kitchen. Alas, that thing needs a full overhaul.

    And it was lovely meeting you. I want to meet the rest of the family now, too. We should get the kids together and unleash them on a park somewhere!

    • Our polka dot rug is SO OLD it’s stained and all gross, but I love it. I just wash it in the machine. I’m SO LAME.

      You can email it to me: cassandrelu at gmail dot com

      It was great to meet you, too!!!

  5. Love the kitchen. Makes me want to take a sander–or a sledgehammer–to our lame cabinets. But, I’m afraid, it would be far from free.

    Loved meeting Mae. I completely forgot to take any pictures, too. Once again, we depend on Bluz to properly document the event.

  6. It does seem like we’ve known each other forever, doesn’t it?

    That’s what’s so funny about blogging… you learn so much about people; more, even, than those around you every day. So when you do finally get together, it’s exactly like being close personal friends.

    Dearie, if I had the opportunity, I’d totally move back to Pittsburgh. Since I don’t have any kids, I need someone to take care of me in my old age…

    The recap post is up now on my site. Sadly, I didn’t take nearly as many pictures of people as I thought I did. (And I already emailed the group all the ones with people in them.)

    But what a great time. Getting together with all’a Yinz is just the best.

  1. Pingback: An honest tour of my house: first floor edition | Sisters From Different Misters

Leave a Reply

