When things just don’t go your way

Father’s Day. I had plans, sort of. I wanted it to be a nice day for Matt. As someone who does way too much, it was the least I could do.

So my plans consisted of: make breakfast, go grocery shopping with all three kids, make lunch, dinner and dessert. Yah. Some plans. I wanted to go on a picnic, but it looked like it was going to rain all day so while the kids napped, I finally asked Matt what he wanted to do.

He thought we could go to Golden Triangle biking and rent some bikes and a bike trailer for the littlest ones. We got so excited that we packed up and headed out.

When we got there, the lady told us Mae had to be a year old in order to be in their bike trailer due to liabilities. Seriously? Where was that on your website?

Matt was frustrated. Claire had her helmet on and everything. Try explaining to a 3 1/2 year old that we came to bike, but now we can’t.

So Matt thought we could go out and just buy the damn bikes and trailer to make up for the fact that he just got shot down. So we headed to a bike shop in East Liberty and found that they only had one bike trailer and it was for display purposes. If we wanted one, we’d have to order it. Turns out we’d be hard pressed to find anyone who sold bike trailers in the store.

As we started to drive home, we passed the Animal Rescue League. Matt suggested we buy a new cat.

Lucky for us, it was closed. Who really wants three cats, anyhow?

Defeated, we went home. Matt grilled up the chicken I had marinating. Claire still had her helmet on and looked plain pathetic. So as a last ditch effort, we decided to load up the jogging stroller and Claire’s bike and head out to the river trail downtown.

I pushed the stroller and Matt jogged along side Claire. The above photo was taken after Claire had gone two miles.

Mae waiting patiently as Matt and I take turns at the fancy-schmancy porta potties that FLUSH. We be high class up in Pittsburgh n’at.

Luca being a cheeseball. He’s a very go with the flow kinda kid. Back when Claire was his age, you wouldn’t find her sitting still in the jogging stroller. Not unless she was tired or it was hot. That girl had to MOVE.

Turns out, our impromptu trip to the North Shore ended up being just the thing we needed to make it a great Father’s Day. There was tons of drama going on downtown that it kept the kids visually interested. Helicopters, police boats with sirens, a guy jumping off the Ft. Duquesne Bridge,  ambulances, homeless people swimming in the fountain and tons of geese.

And on top of that, Matt and I got to jog four miles.

 

Then we came home and negated the physical activity with the chocolate silk pie I had made.

So, while Father’s Day is really just another day, it was still a day to celebrate Matt and the father he is. He is a fantastic father who puts up with a lot of crap. I mean, let’s be honest here. We have three kids aged three and under. He married me. We all know I’m a pill at times. He works really hard at his job and hardly ever complains. Actually, the only time he complains is when I tell him to. I just tell him it’s therapeutic.

For me, I’ve learned over the years that to be a father is to be a good person who is active in their child’s life. To really love and care for his children. To make an effort to be there. Not just a sperm donor. Matt goes above and beyond what it means to be a father. That’s all there is to it.

So. Happy belated Father’s Day to the love of my life, father of my children and best friend.

Matt and Claire

Matt and Luca watching the Pens play for the Cup

Matt and Miss Mae

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on June 21, 2011, in Cassie and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. You’re right. Anyone can be a father but it takes a real man to be a dad. So sorry to hear about your frustrations of everything not working out but I’m really happy that you found something that you were all able to enjoy anyway. So glad it all worked out in the end. 🙂

  2. Happy Father’s Day Matt! I’m so glad you have such a great person as your partner in life and father to your kids. Having and hands on dad makes all the difference.

    And wow to the craziness downtown. Glad your kids enjoyed it!

  3. You guys are great. So is that picture of Luca. Jogging is not. But I’m glad you both love it and that you found each other. And not me.

    Really, though? Guy jumping off the bridge?

  4. I love this! Love it, love it, love it. Makes me actually wish Chris and I had kids so I can adore his daddy skills (for about a quick 30 seconds and then it passes lol!)….. More importantly however, is that when I googled the guy who jumped, Google prompted me to your blog for the first two hits, then it hit on WTAE. So, you are more informed than the news. Kudos 😉

Leave a Reply

