The anatomy of a drawing

A few weeks ago I drew, framed and shipped Miss Sarah to her mother, Jessica. I couldn’t help myself. I just love  those dimples! I had to draw them.

But Claire then said to me, “Um, Mama? Where’s my drawing?”

She’s such a slave driver, that 3 year old.

So the drawing of Claire is complete. It wasn’t easy – let me tell you. First, the paper went wonky. So I had to go buy new paper. Then my pencil sharpener stopped working and broke the charcoal. Then Mae pooped and it was everywhere.(Not on the drawing, though!) So…a few bumps along the way.

Here’s how it goes:


It starts out looking funny.

Of course, I have to see results NOW so I jump from feature to feature.

Then I start to see some progress.

Still moving along…

Now here’s where my ADD starts to shine through. I start getting bored with her forehead, so I move here there and everywhere.

This was about the time Mae pooped (which she does so only once a week, therefore, you need a backhoe in order to clean her up.) When I got back, I forgot where I was so I just started wherever.

Then I started to work on her forehead again and quickly got bored. So I went back to the background. ADD shining on through, yet again.

The procedure isn’t all that clean, either. I have a tendency of wiping my brow, itch my chest, rub my cheekbone…and end up looking awesome. I love it, though. Claire tells me that I’m “Chalky.” Just ignore the fact that I was gross and sweaty, having just come home from Spin Class.

Here’s the culprit.

Then the culprit smudges my drawing…which frustrates me to no end.


And I make a huge mess that drives my husband crazy.

But I get SO CLOSE to being done…

Then I finish! And I feel accomplished! And it almost looks like the photo! Yays all around!

Then it gets taped to the wall of fame! It used to be the door of fame, but the wind kept blowing them around, and Matt yelled at me, saying that I should take better care of my things which sounded an awful lot like, “This is why we can’t have nice things,” so now they’re temporarily in the hallway until I get mats and frames.

So they surround Claire’s painting. Fabulous!

And that, dear readers, is the anatomy of a drawing.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on June 30, 2011, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. LOVE it! That mouth is just outrageously cute. 🙂 Nice job!

  2. Almost like the photo, but you put your own special love in there to make it even better. I love those drawing, honey. If you ever want to do three of my favorites…. well, yanno… just sayin’.

  3. They all look wonderful! I hope you’re so proud of yourself! Now you need one of you and Matt together and the family is complete. 🙂

  4. Beautiful work, my friend. You have such a talent.

    Also, you worked the mess very efficiently. When you’re all sweaty and stuff is the best time to add more dirt, otherwise you’d have to take 2 showers. This way you take 1 shower and get off twice the grunge.

  5. I hung up Sarah’s drawing yesterday! I love it so much. Everyone I’ve shown it to is so impressed.

    And wow, you come out looking like a chimney sweep by the time you’re done with one of those. 🙂

    • Isn’t it silly how messy I get? When I was in high school, I’d always walk to my next class looking a mess. My teachers were usually kind enough to tell me that my face was dirty. But sometimes I swear they just let it go to get a giggle.

  6. Dude, I just can’t believe I KNOW someone who can draw like this.

Leave a Reply

