The story about the iPhone

I wasn’t going to tell it, but it just needs to be said. Here’s the story about the iPhone of my despair.

Matt was about to celebrate his 29th birthday and I had no idea what to get him. He, for the record, is the worst person to ask what to get him because his response is, “cheese doodles and hair pies.” Nerd. So I decided to get him an iPhone.

I called Verizon. If I wanted to get him one now, I’d have to pay 700 dollars. Now, I love spending Matt’s hard earned money, but that’s a bit much. (I mean, let’s get real here, I only work one day a week. I ain’t rolling in no Benjamins here.) So I took to eBay.

I purchased an iPhone 3g that was unlocked and stated it was ‘for all carriers.’

One afternoon, while Matt was outside playing with the kids, I tried to get the phone going to surprise him. I was desperately looking through his Blackberry for a SIM card. When I didn’t find one, I googled it.

You’ve gotta be freaking kidding me.

Stupid Cassie, here, didn’t realize that Verizon wasn’t using SIM cards like AT&T and so the phone that I purchased wasn’t usable for Verizon. But I didn’t realize this until after I had owned the phone for a week.

I started to cry. Then I told Matt how I wasted his money.

He was so surprised about the fact that he was going to get an iPhone that he didn’t care that it didn’t work. When I said it’d be three times more expensive to get a Verizon specific iPhone, he hinted that he didn’t care.

The next day I ordered him a phone that would work and put the iPhone that I couldn’t use back on eBay.

Three days later I got Matt’s phone and shipped out the bad one.

A few days after that, I got an email from the buyer stating that it froze during calls and that he was demanding a refund.

Fine with me. I was never able to access the damn thing to even know if it worked, and the guy who sold it to me said it was ‘flawless.’ FLAWLESS MY ASS.

So that following Saturday, while hard at work, I get a phone call from Matt:

M: “So…um, the phone came back today.”

Me: “OK.”

M: “And, um, well, the screen is cracked.”

Me: “WTF! YOU’VE GOT TO BE FREAKING KIDDING ME. J#@## EFFING C#@$@%!”

M: “I think it was sent via insured mail.”

Me: Sigh.

So after a 12 hour shift at work, I came home in time to call eBay and ask them what to do. An hour later they told me simply, the buyer isn’t eligible for a refund.  When I told that to the buyer, he was understandably pissed. I told him I’d open the insurance claim with USPS, since he wanted me to send the phone back to him. Um, no good sir, I will not send the phone back to you that you quite possibly could have broken on purpose.

Finally, about 10 days later, I got a check in the mail from the USPS for the amount I had sold the phone for. (Though the buyer had insured it for 100 dollars more than he paid…hmmm…) I issued the buyer his refund and cashed my check. Even.

But what to do with the busted iPhone?

eBay!

I started the listing at 50 bucks to buy for parts and more specifically, was selling it AS IS.

Bidding is over and I just deposited 86 dollars into my bank account. Thanks, PayPal.

I went out and bought myself a new pair of spin shoes and some much needed bake ware. Mister Pan will receive his broken iPhone and probably make more money over it than I, but I don’t really care. I’ll finally be rid of the iPhone from hell.

Matt, on the other hand, loves his VERIZON SPECIFIC iPhone. As he stated his “life can now begin.” This includes him having a Twitter account to keep up on all things sports. My husband. Has Twitter. #mildlydisturbed

And that, ladies and gents, is how I made 100 dollars off of an iPhone that I couldn’t even use. But the stress alone wasn’t worth it. However, when my bread comes out perfect and my pies look delish, I’ll be happy.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on July 25, 2011, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. If we don’t stop watching Sons of Anarchy every night, The Guy’s going to want a Harley for his birthday, and what a gift-giving nightmare THAT will be.

  2. I HATE IT when things that start out so wonderful turn out to be a huge PITA. Glad it all worked out for you and Matt was happy in the end!

  3. What a hassle to go through! I’m glad it had a happy ending but no doubt you were ready to explode with all the nonsense along the way. I want an iphone but I have US Cellular. 😦 I’m contemplating ditching them after 10 years for people that have iphones. I have the BB Bold. It’s neat and all but it’s no iPhone. 🙂

  4. What I got out of this story was: you are an eBaying badass. I looked into becoming a seller for about ten seconds one day and got discouraged.

Leave a Reply

