I’ve gotta be me

‎”When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.” -John Lennon

 

I am me. I’m who I am and I make no apologies for it. But when I say that, I don’t mean that I’m a mean person, because I’m not. Who I am is a person who is very passionate about what I believe in. I believe that discipline makes for a good, strong-hearted kid with morals. I don’t apologize for putting my kids first, or for making sure that I am also taken care of.

I believe that to be compassionate is to be human.

I believe that when we set ourselves to a higher standard and really, truly believe in ourselves that we can achieve anything.

I believe in personal responsibility.

Foolish and Cassie hardly go hand and hand.

I’m a dreamer and a glass half-full kind of girl. I believe in miracles and patience and the power of positive thinking. I also enjoy the occasional rainbow and butterfly.

I run for fun.

Having conversations with myself is sometimes the only thing that saves my sanity. Especially during spin class.

I love the gym and sometimes go twice a day when it’s rainy or too hot or the kids are sick of me.

I honestly believe that anyone can change if they just try.

…I say all this because I’m confused as to why someone would think I’d want to spread hate. While it may be a simple email about a postage stamp, what it said was so much more. Hate is a cancer that feeds on the weak and ignorant and I am neither.  I, personally, just choose to be more accepting of all kinds of people. It doesn’t mean I like everyone, but at least I’m not spreading hatefulness.

But that’s just me.

 

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on July 28, 2011, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I personally think you’re one of the most uplifting people I’ve ever met. You give so much to others, even when you’ve never met them in person. Shame on that person for trying to make you feel bad! And good for you for asserting who you are.

  2. Dang… another comment of mine must have disappeared. If only I could remember what I wrote yesterday…

    • I’m sure you wrote, “Cassie, you are both beautiful and witty and anyone who is mean to you will be struck down. Plus you are smart, too.”

  3. What is going on?! Who could’ve possibly said something mean to you?! I must have a bunch of Christian guilt residue inside of me, because when I read this, I was immediately like, “Wait, was it me?” But I thought through it, and I don’t think I’ve written you any mean e-mails . . . lately. I think you’re wonderful!

  4. I hate mean people. I have pretty much the same attitude you do: I don’t have to like everyone, but I certainly don’t have to be mean or spiteful. Sorry someone was mean to you, mama!

  5. Mean people suck, and there are plenty of them out there in cyberspace. Have had to shake off a few demeaning comments myself. One anonymous gun-loving soul expressed the desire that I not breed. Unfortunately, I’m too old in the teeth to do so just to spite him. Shake it off. Rub some dirt on it. Part of being interesting and having something to say is risking assault by the cowardly tomato throwers.

Leave a Reply

