7.25

Sunday was one of the most awesome days I’ve had in a long time. Sunday I ran 7.25 miles.

See, some couples have romantic candle lit dinners. Some read Newsweek and drink coffee together. Some go to the movies and eat buttery popcorn. My husband and I run a lot of miles together.

After I had Luca, I lost a lot of who I was. I found, through running, I was able to have peace and quiet. Nothing but the sound of my breath, the pavement and my music. No thoughts. No worries. Just running.

I ran races. I ran at the gym. I pushed The Beast with the kids in tow. I gave it everything I had.

See, when you take something that seems so difficult and you strip it down to the basicness of it all, it’s just that simple to do. That’s how I got through 10 hard weeks of Basic Training. It’s just work. You just do. That’s it. Nothing fancy.

When I run, I move my feet. I breathe. I keep a simple pace. I go. I do. It’s just that simple.

Sunday, I had it in my mind I was going to do 7 miles. Matt thought we were just going to do 6. We ran our favorite trail (you know, the one downtown) and while we were on Neville Island, on mile 5.5, I said, “Let’s keep going when we get by the car. Can we?” He didn’t object, so onward we continued. When we got to mile 7, I was ready to go more. I would have gone 10, but Matt was tired and still getting over his cold, so we stopped. I was jazzed. I was energized. I DID IT.

When I was at Basic, I reminded myself often that it’s just mental. Your body will do what you tell it to do. You just have to trust that. Sure, you can get injured and really, truly hurt, but if it’s just that mental block holding you back, you can push through. And I did.

It sealed the deal for me. And so I have big news!

I am now publicly announcing that I, Cassandre Louise (don’t judge the name,)  am training for my very first half marathon. It takes place in October and I’m so super duper excited. Plus, I already paid for it. So I have to.

And Matt’s running it, too! Because he’s crazy and planning on doing the full in May. (I’m not drinking that kool-aid yet.)

So yay! I said it! 13.1 miles! Woo!

…woo?

WOO!

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on August 1, 2011, in Cassie and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. That’s awesome!!! Which one are you running?!! You are so going to kick my ads in our 10k…

  2. You are so awesome! Way to go. I know you’ll kick that half marathon’s ass.

    • Thanks! I don’t have any goal for time, really, more or less just completion at this point. I do, however want to finish it under 2:30, which I totally think is doable for me, since at this point when I’m running for distance, I’m going at about a 10:40 pace.

  3. Whooooooooooo! But, really, PAYING to run?

    I love that Kamran and I do the exact opposite thing to bond. I mean, we go to the gym together every morning for 30 minutes, sure, but then we wreck it and get fatter every weekend with these four-hour meals.

  4. WOO!

    Dude, I cannot WAIT to run just because I can. Proud of you! You’re gonna do great.

  5. YAY! A half marathon is a big deal!!! That’s so awesome! You’ll do fabulous!

  6. Okay, this makes me want to take a nap. *yawn*

  7. If you just ran seven miles, you have no problem at all. Good for you! I hope I get to do another one some day (beware the evil scourge of plantar fasciitis. It’s EEEEVIL).

    • Oooh. I’ve heard rumors about the pain of plantar fasciitis. I remember it put our one doc in a walking cast!

      Thanks for the vote of confidence!

Leave a Reply

