Holy crap, it’s been 5 years (one day early)

Tomorrow, Matt and I will be celebrating five years of wedded bliss. While it hasn’t always been easy, it’s sure been fun.

You guys all know how we met – I threatened to quit my job as a waitress if they didn’t hire the hot interviewee who turned out to be Matt C. I trained him, we bonded, we bought a dog, we fell in love.

I often wonder to myself how he puts up with me. Not sure if my personality translates well into print, but I can be a bit much. I’m not nearly as dramatic as I once was (kids have mellowed me) but I still have my moments. I do, however, have a list of my positives:

1. I have successfully incubated and then kept alive three children by my body alone up until 6 months of age. That’s pretty impressive. (And great to throw back into Matt’s face when I don’t want to do something.)

2. I know how to cook and I do it rather well.

3. I bake.

4. I vacuum.

5. I sometimes shave my legs.

6. What I lack in income, I make up for in personality.

7. I’m witty.

8. And I make excellent lists.

So, maybe I’m not so bad.

Marriage is hard work. But ours has come so naturally, that I often wonder if that means we’re meant for each other. As lame as that sounds, I’m pretty sure Matt’s the one meant for me because of this. As previously mentioned, he puts up with me, but more than that he makes me laugh. And he’s kind. And he’s generous. And he recycles.

When I was single and so very lonely, it wasn’t because I couldn’t find a guy willing to date me, it was that I couldn’t see myself with them past the first date. But, and I remember this as clear as if it were yesterday (plus I was drunk, so that’s saying a lot,) when we first hung out at Bar Louis, he leaned down to grab a napkin I dropped and when he handed it back to me, I had a déjà vu moment where I saw him doing that years down the line. I think we were out to lunch and we were outside and I think we were downtown. Either way, he had a beard and he was beautiful.

And now, today, he has a beard and he’s beautiful. And I drop napkins often.

One of the most endearing things about him is he’s a touch clumsy:

*One of the first times Matt and I hung out, he dropped my curling iron in the toilet – while it was plugged in and turned on.

*A little while after that he broke the mosquito net canopy I had above my bed when he sneezed.

*When we moved into our apartment together, he broke my Hard Rock Cafe glass that I kept because I had my first Canadian-legal drink in it. (Lynchburg Lemonade, baby.)

*Last week he broke his iPhone belt clip. Previous to that, he went through four or five Blackberry belt clips.

*Oh, and when we went to Chillicothe, OH, (what a gem of a place that is.) he thought he had left his favorite Malkin and Stanley Cup Champs tees behind.

But on our honeymoon, we went to the same Hard Rock Cafe that I had my first Canadian-legal drink at and he bought me a replacement glass. I still have it today.

I bought the exact same shirts he thought he had lost and he acted like a kid on Christmas.

And I’m staring at the new iPhone clip that came in the mail today as a replacement.

What I’m saying is that while I joke with Matt that we have a “Matt breaks/loses/renders useless Fund,” I love him. He’s broken a lot of things around the house and throughout the years, but he’s never left it broken. And he’s never hurt me.

All too often, men have come and gone in my life. Fathers, boyfriends, friends, all leaving me hurt. Matt has been that one constant that I’ve needed. I waited 19 years to find it. And every day I spend with him, I love him just a little bit more.

Our life isn’t very exciting and it’s pretty much down right predictable, but we like it that way. But I wouldn’t trade him in for the world. He’s the father of my children, love of my life, supplier of income, endless supply of laughs, great running partner, and awesome motivator. He’s stable, constant,  and my best friend. He loves the kids to no end, has the patience of a saint, gets up early, stays up late, works hard and never complains.

So Happy Anniversary Matt. Thanks for thinking my ass still looks hot after having three kids, and super thanks for letting me catch you staring. It’s the things you do that make up for the things you don’t say. And I’m alright with that.

Because we all know I talk enough for the two of us.

I love you.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on August 18, 2011, in Cassie and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I love this. Sweetest post ever. I hope he reads and can see it. Happy anniversary to the both of you! And I love that picture.

  2. 9. I’m smokin’ hot.

    I’m so glad you got a good one. Sounds like you both deserve each other. I wish you many, many happy years ahead.

  3. You know it’s good when the time flies by. Can’t believe it’s been 18 years for me and the missus. Seems like yesterday.

    Congrats, and here’s to many, many more!

  4. This is such a great, real post. “I sometimes shave my legs.” Ha ha, how true that is. I feel like Mark and I were meant for each other too.

    Happy Anniversary you two!

  5. Fantastic, sweet post. Happy Anniversary, you guys! So happy you found each other and are still enjoying the heck out of each other. 🙂 Here’s to many, many more years of laughter and love!

  6. Happy anniversary to two of the last of the red-hot lovers!

    And don’t worry – The Guy loses stuff constantly, too.

  7. Chillicothe!! Yeah! That’s, like, a half an hour from my hometown. My parents often go there for dinner (Mexican food, of all things) instead of traveling to the Big City with its Crowds and its Non-White People.

    You two are beautiful! Inside and out, as gross as I feel saying that.

Leave a Reply

