Chicken tortilla soup with lime

I have a problem.

Well, OK, so I have a lot of problems, but we’re not here to discuss all of them.

My problem with cooking is that I don’t follow the rules.

Measuring is for the weak.

Or at least the organized.

So yesterday I had every intention of following the ingredient list to a T when I was making chicken tortilla soup.

But about two minutes in to throwing it together in the crock pot, I lost steam.

So I made it up.

And OH MY GOODNESS WAS IT DELICIOUS.

And I’m pretty sure I remember exactly how to make it.

So here it goes.

Chicken tortilla soup with lime:

4 cups chicken broth
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
23 oz can diced tomatoes with juice
2 sweet potatoes peeled and in small chunks (seriously. follow with me now)
1 can black beans
1 can kidney beans
package frozen corn
2 tbs Worcestershire sauce (I swear, I’m not crazy)
1 lime
*chili powder
*minced dry onion
*cumin
*red pepper flakes

*all to personal preference. I just dump.

It’s so simple. Just dump everything in the crock pot. What I did was just mixed in the first four ingredients with the spices and let it cook for a few hours on low, then I added in the beans and corn. With the lime, slice it in half, squeeze the juices into the mixture and then drop the limes in, too. Trust me. It’s delicious. It cooks for 5-7 hours on low. Shred the chicken up prior to serving. If you cooked it for over 7 hours, then it’ll shred real easy.

I served it with cheddar cheese and sour cream. I baked my own corn tortillas by using a pizza cutter to make them into strips, sprayed them with Pam spray and then baked at 400 for 10-15 minutes, turning half way through. But tortilla chips work just as well.

It makes A BUNCH so I portioned some and froze it for later.

 

Enjoy!

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on August 25, 2011, in Cassie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Sounds wonderful! I am definitely going to give it a try.

  2. I wonder if I could hide the sweet potatoes in the soup? Mark probably won’t eat it if he knows they are in there. Can you taste them?

  3. My mouth is watering at this recipe!!! **hurrying to scribble on notepad***

  4. So my question is, do your kids eat it? My oldest will eat anything but my 2 youngest are so picky that we feel stuck eating the same crap all the time.

Leave a Reply

