In a bind? Bake this.

I love apple pie.

I love apple pie so much it’s unreal.

The buttery crust. The sugary apples. The warm, gooey middle.

Love apple pie.

(And get your minds out of the gutter, this isn’t some reference to American Pie.)

Now, I’m slowly converting into a full on stay at home mom cliche. (Who works a day a week.) I’ve been insistent on baking bread from scratch, even though I have a bread machine in the basement, I am making home made decorations for Claire’s birthday, and my house isn’t quite the same unless I have something baking in the oven.

I mean, hell, even when I was in Louisiana, I couldn’t help myself but bake Jessica and Mark dessert. And it was delicious, as always.

Tonight I wanted apple pie. But the way I make it takes a long time. I’m talking upwards of 3 hours. (Mostly letting the apples mingle in sugar, letting the dough rest and then reducing the juices.) It’s worth it – don’t get me wrong, but I just didn’t have the time. Or drive.

So here’s my favorite in a bind, want homemade apple pie, need it now recipe.

It’s courtesy of The Comfort of Cooking.

What you need:

1 (9-inch) pie crust, homemade or store-bought, thawed (I use Trader Joe’s brand)
1 apple, peeled, halved and cut into chunks or sliced (tart is good. I used Fuji, however.)
1 tsp. brown sugar
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
1 egg
1/2 tsp. granulated or coarse sugar

Here’s how you make it:

Heat oven to 400°F. Spray a cookie sheet with some Pam.

Peel and cube up the apple, and toss slices with brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg in a medium bowl. Set aside.

Roll out the pie crust. Add apple chunks to the middle of the pie crust, and fold the sides of the pie crust inward. Flip the galette over so that the seams are faced down.

Whisk egg and lightly brush over the crust. Sprinkle crust with sugar.

Bake for 18 to 22 minutes, or until crust is golden brown and apples are tender. Cool 5 minutes before removing from cookie sheet.

Eat.

From start to finish, it takes no more than 5 minutes prep and 20ish minutes baking.

BAM. Done.

Enjoy.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on September 21, 2011, in Cassie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. You’re not alone in your love of apple pie. There may be lots of fancier desserts but few that are as universally appealing to me.

    I’ll have to try that recipe! Pies intimidate me, but I think I can handle that one!

  2. The Bluzdude Recipe:
    1) Go to the store.
    2) Buy an apple pie.
    3) Go bach home to eat it.
    4) Realize that it would be better with ice cream.
    5) Go back to store and buy ice cream.
    6) Go home and eat pie and ice cream until your ice cream headache boborders on a coma.

  3. No wonder you run so much! Though I guess I wouldn’t mind running so much either if it meant I could eat baked goods every day and still look amazing.

    That pie sounds divine.

    Also, I finished the crumble off yesterday. 🙂

    • Yah, I guess I need to run to keep it in check. Surprisingly, I don’t eat what I make all the time. Sometimes I’ll make things I don’t like that the others do, just to keep me away!

  4. I love pie. So much better than cake. Cake sucks. Pies rule.
    Even better. Crisp. Apple crisp. Agggghhhhhh.

    Someone did serve me a raw apple pie the other day that wasn’t bad. It’s pretty quick, except for the 12 hours you have to soak the nuts. (get your mind out of the gutter!)

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-specials/raw-apple-pie-recipe/index.html

Leave a Reply

