it’s a hockey party in Pittsburgh

Claire’s still not officially 4 yet, so the heartfelt, I remember when you were a baby, my how you’ve grown post will be forthcoming.

But we did have a hockey party.

And it was awesome.

I made party hats.

I made a birthday banner.

I made cupcake toppers.

I decorated. (And irritated Matt. Double score.)

I figured out that Claire had let Sadie-Dog out at 8:30, because when 10:30 rolled around, I realized she was still outside.

I made chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter frosting and mini peanut butter cup toppings.

And they were flipping fantastic.

Then posed with them.

The birthday girl wasn’t too keen on posing.

She did, however, wear her party hat and insist we play Candy Land.

For the record, I won. (And changed shirts for the hell of it.)

(Posing with step dad, Joe. Wittiest man alive and Africa bound on Thursday for Habitat for Humanity.)

She got two Penguins jerseys.

Penguins shirts.

Penguins socks.

And various Penguins paraphernalia including a bear, a chocolate puck, a noise maker, an ice cream scooper, a box of tissues, a purse and much, much more.

Luca enjoyed playing with the socks.

And despite the fact that Mae was absolutely miserable from both teething and a cold, she managed to become enthralled with gift bags.

And now, I’m sitting on the couch in my favorite sweats and tee that says Bayside Cheerleader, Beat Valley. We’re watching Tangled. Claire has her wardrobe planned for the next week, socks included.

I’m ready for a nap.

(My camera is acting annoying and most of my photos were blurry. Freaking figures.)

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on October 2, 2011, in Cassie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. You look soooooooooooooooooooo pretty in your cowl. Also, I find it hilarious that you have those wire cooling racks, because every time I watch “Good Eats” and Alton Brown uses those (which is, like, every episode), I think, “Normal people probably have those things, huh?”

    Well, this looks like a horrible birthday party to me, theme-wise, but Claire looks mighty happy. And grown up!

  2. Wow! I’m so impressed. You did such a great job with the party. I bet Claire was in heaven. And you look just like the perfect domestic mom in the posed photo with the cupcake. I love it!

    Also the teething, oh the teething. I feel you.

  3. What a perfect party for a little Penguin Girl. And I always loved Candyland. Although they should marked a scratch and sniff edition.

    Happy birthday, Claire!

  4. And dressed up like a super-hot modern-day version of June Cleaver for the party! Gotta love a MILF with style.

    AWESOME job! I don’t even LIKE sports, and these photos make me want a hockey party!

    (Also cupcakes.)

  5. Love the pics! So cute!

  6. Love the picture of you!

    And what a perfect party theme!

Leave a Reply

