Dear Claire (a day early)

Dear Claire,

What do I say to you? To the most amazing little girl who has changed my life in ways I never knew possible?

I remember dreaming about you before you were even here. I’d lay in bed wondering if you would have my eyes….if you’d have daddy’s nose…if you’d have the same spirit and imagination that we both had as kids.

But you, my dear, far exceeded any expectations I ever had. You have my eyes. You have daddy’s nose. And you have the biggest, most amazing imagination that I have ever seen. You are inquisitive and insightful and so very caring.

What I wish for you, on your fourth birthday, is that you stay the same. That you continue to fly free without worrying what the world may think of you – because who you are, Claire, is a kind, beautiful, smart kid naturally. Who steps up to the plate when I ask. Who is always helpful, patient and happy – genuinely happy – with life.

I wish that you remember not to take life so seriously. That if you find something to be seemingly too difficult, that you think it through, not quit. Never quit. I don’t raise quitters.

Don’t ever lose your spunk. And don’t ever let someone tell you that you talk too much. It’s not a character flaw, it’s who you are. And it’s better to have something to say than to hold it all in.

Never feel as if you’re not good enough. Because you are. And if you don’t believe that, then you’re only selling yourself short. Always live up to your potential and you will succeed in whatever you choose.

If you ever feel sad, it’s alright to cry. But don’t let those tears hold you down. Talk it out, work it out and walk away. Dwelling on the past doesn’t help anything.

Continue to be passionate in something. Hockey, firefighters, stickers, whatever. Have that drive – that push to always reinvent yourself. It makes you you: interesting, creative and fun.

When you were born, Claire, you changed my life for the better. You constantly remind me what it’s like to be a kid, full of ideas and promise. I love you more than words can describe. You make me proud, and so very, very happy to be your mother. I am lucky to have you in my life and I hope I never, ever take you for granted.


You have a beautiful soul, Miss Claire. Please never change. Happy Birthday.

Love,

Mommy

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on October 10, 2011, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. Aww, this was lovely. I mean, of course I want to steal Claire and whisper in her ears the opposite of everything you said here. But not because I wish any harm to her! Just because I’m a jerk.

    But that really is one cute kid, and I’m so glad you accidentally got pregnant at 13 and that it was Claire who popped out!

    Just kidding, Claire! You were totally planned, and your mom was a completely normal age to have kids! (Now you’re going to have to delete this comment, huh?)

  2. Happy Birthday Claire! What a beautiful little girl she’s grown into. It’s so amazing to me how much the change from tiny little chubby baby to beautiful little girl. What a great, imaginative spirit!

    • I know. I love looking at photos of her as a baby. I look at Mae sometimes and think, “You look familiar.”

      Claire’s so beautiful, it takes my breath away.

  3. That’s funny… I thought the same thing… I was like, “Why is there a picture of Mae at the beginning of a post about Claire?”

    Happy Birthday, dear Claire. Listen to your mommy… she just laid some primo advice on you, because she’s amazing that way. She is far too wise for her limited years.

    I hope your Penguins can give you a win for your birthday.

  4. That made me tear up. I’d complain, but that usually helps me sleep, which I need to be doing soon. 🙂

    How beautiful, Cassie! Happy Birthday, Claire! May you grow up to have your mommy’s spirit because it is as beautiful as you are! 🙂

  5. This is one of the sweetest letters. I hope you print it out and put it in a book, envelope, box, or something to save for her to read when she’s older. She’ll cherish it forever. There is nothing sweeter than a letter from her mommy. I so wish I would have had these types of things from my mom to keep forever. I do have a few notebooks that my parents wrote to each other in about me/day to day stuff. My favorite being the one on my first day of school. Dad wrote about how hard it was to send me off and he followed the bus to my school. 🙂

    Happy Birthday to Claire! She’s one of the most beautiful little girls I’ve ever seen. It’s stunning how pretty she is. Your letter is perfect and can say it better anyone. She’s a true gem.

  6. Yayyy, happy birthday, Claire!

  7. I’ve written so much about that little bugger and still I can’t seem to express enough how much I love Claire. Here’s one of my favorites. I love, love, LOVE cooking with Claire. She makes kitchen time so much fun. http://lynnsweigh.blogspot.com/2009/02/claire-and-grammy-in-kitchen.html

  8. Wow, now I’m crying…four is a great age to be! Happy Birthday Claire! If you are half as cool as your mom, you will be awesome for life!

    Enjoy your day! Go Pens!

  9. Okay, I guess it’s Happy Birthday, Claire (a day late) now, but happy birthday anyway, cute stuff! You should stick with that mom of yours; she’s pretty cool and definitely knows what’s up. Moose and I hope to see you soon. He promises not to scratch you … he’s really more of a biter now. 🙂 Love, Jen

  10. Happy Birthday to my favorite Pens fan!!!! Luv you so much!! Have a wonderful birthday!! PS~ Maybe later this year me, you, mommy, and Luca can go to a Pens practice and see Sidney 🙂

  11. Dear Ms Claire May you be blessed with the wisdom to appreciate the things that you have, and that includes your family. Know that you are loved. Happy birthday,

  12. OK, I’m late to the party (AGAIN), but who doesn’t like a belated birthday wish? So here goes:

    Happy birthday, Claire! Here’s hoping you grow up to be just as cool, awesome and sweet as your momma. And I hope you enjoyed those cupcakes. I was pretty jealous of them.

  13. Happy birthday to your first little girl! (A few days late.)

Leave a Reply

