getting lost in a corn field

Avast ye mateys! Today was the kids’ first visit to a corn maze. Complete with a hay ride. And an obstacle course! Oh – and it was pirate themed…ARG!

Which, isn’t that convenient? Luca was planning on being a pirate for Halloween! He wasn’t that excited to be a pirate after I ordered the costume, stating that he instead wanted to be a motorcycle. Not sure what to do with that information, but this corn maze instilled his want to be a pirate. So yay for that.

So, of course, Claire insisted on wearing her costume, even though it has nothing to do with pirates. She insisted that she was the police officer of the pirates.

I’ll give her that one for creativity.

Maelie dressed as herself – which I describe as adorable.

Luca paraded around the corn maze in uniform complete with a parascope. (Well, it’s technically a telescope, but that’s neither here nor there. Point is – it’s Claire’s and she willingly shared.) He stayed in character the majority of the time, stopping every so often to check his parascope for treasure.

Holy crap do I have a good looking crew there. Kids? Adorable. Husband? Hottie-hot-hot. Me? Lucky.

It’s par for course that they’d be uncooperative for me. So I just squeeze the stuffing out of them to elicit smiles.

Mae was feeling existential.

Luca is all boy and part MacGyver. He sees mud and he has a pencil, so he makes a hole.

Pretty sure we got lost five times.

But the sun was shining and it was a beautiful day.

Of course, while on the hay ride, we saw all the cows in the pasture. As the kids waved and shouted, “Moo,” I said under my breath, “Hello cows. You’re all going to die very soon!”  Which made Matt laugh and the kids ask an annoying amount of questions. (The corn maze is hosted at a meat farm.)

And since we were riding through 4 inches of mud, it was bumpy and Luca insisted on holding my hand.

And I loved every moment of it.

 

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on October 23, 2011, in Cassie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. That first picture of Matt and Mae, I thought the Halloween character was “Quato” from Total Recall. (Yinz kin look it up.)

    Looked like a good time. And I see that Matt went along with the Pirates theme by wearing that hat.

  2. I love those pictures! What a great family outing. Also, Mae’s hat is amazing.

  3. That’s a pretty awesome little pirate costume Luca’s got there!

  4. Looks like so much fun! And some awesome pictures you got! The kids are all adorable as it gets. Love Pirate Luca!

  5. Great pictures and I really like the blog format (although my iPad is having “issues” with it)

  6. Mmmmm meat farm.

    Luca’s costume is awesome! But Claire’s seems to be missing a gun. We may or may not have seen an inflatable red, white, and blue rifle at the pumpkin festival last weekend. I could’ve got her one if you would’ve told me about this major oversight.

    I kind of don’t know what to do when I see a picture of Mae where she’s not smiling.

Leave a Reply

