Crazy or super?

Today a dear friend of mine titled a photo album: A day of being supermom, with the alternate title of: Channeling Cassie. I find that as a huge compliment. I’ve been referred to as a super mom by a few people before, though, I know there are women out there who do way more than what I do in a day. I simply refer to myself as crazy.

Yesterday, I got it in my head that I needed to do a project. Well, like four or five projects, but that’s neither here nor there. So, after the gym, the four of us trekked off to Lowes for wood shims, paint stir sticks and spray paint. Then we crossed the street to Michaels for craft mirrors, fancy paper, canvases and glue.

I got home, ready to start on my many projects and out of the three I wanted to do, I was able to finish one. ONE. Why? Because I didn’t get enough supplies at Lowes and Michaels.

The one I finished involved me putting decorative paper on the back of my ancient bookshelf. I needed to staple it closed in the back, because the kids had pushed the tacking nails out from putting their books back rather harshly, so I figured, why not make it prettier?

This involved me using a paint roller and a glue/water concoction. Perfect when you’re entertaining little humans.

I stuck Mae in the jumper, prayed that Luca stayed napping and gave Claire the task of wiping down the bookshelf, which she did willingly since it was her idea.

In the end, it turned out not too bad:

(The wrinkles actually worked themselves out when it fully dried. Woo!)

Then I started the project of making a sunburst mirror using wood shims. I didn’t really pay attention to how many I was buying and how massive of a project this was, so when I only had 60 shims, I realized I needed about 100 more. And more hot glue. Because this takes a shit ton of hot glue.

After Luca woke up, we went back out to Lowes and back out to Michaels. I came home, stuck on some music, got dinner started and attempted to finish the once good idea, now turned monstrosity.

I painted 3/4 of it stuck it on a board of wood and walked away. Why? Because I realized that I needed to get super strong glue to stick it to a wood backing and since I didn’t have said strong glue, I would have had to go BACK to Lowes.

I’ll finish it another day.

So. All that? Super.

Where’s the crazy?

This morning, Matt opened the curtains and saw this in the pouring rain:

To which he said, “You’re so scatter brained.”

Not really. I knew it was there. I was just plain tired and didn’t feel like cleaning that up. And for my slightly OCD husband, this is where the majority of our fights break out. He didn’t say anything this morning, but I’m sure he’ll have something to say tomorrow morning when it’s still sitting there.

Do I enjoy being a bitch? Yes. Yes I do.

Yesterday was the first day since we’ve become a family of five, that I’ve felt the true weight of three kids. I forgot something at the store. I needed to go back to get it. A simple 10 minute trip. BUT, I have to pile in three kids, make sure they’ve all peed (or have a clean diaper for Miss Moo,) make sure they aren’t hungry, drive to the location, unstrap Luca and Mae (thank GOD Claire can do this herself,) walk into the store, get a cart, listen to complaining, buy the stuff while telling Luca to STOP – FOR THE LOVE OF ALL THAT’S GOOD – HANDING ME THINGS TO RING UP, go out to the car, load up the goods, strap in the kids and then drive across the street to do the same thing. AGAIN.

And it was totally deja vu, because I had already done that 5 hours prior.

Going out in public with three kids, to me, isn’t difficult. I am tough on my kids so that I can do such things without fearing a tantrum in the store or obnoxiousness. Yes, it’s more work than if I just stayed home, but I need to have a life, too, and do normal things. So I just deal.

And having three kids and enjoying to cook and bake can be difficult. But another good thing about how I raise my children is that I also teach them to self-entertain. And not just by the TV. They imagine, create, play…all by themselves. I don’t hold their hands 24/7 in an effort to teach them about life in general. And so that they can be individuals without Mommy doting on them all the time. They need a backbone and imagination and room to think for themselves. It’s a win/win.

Yes. I like to make things from scratch. Not because it makes me seem pretentious, but because it just tastes better. I know that my pizza crust tastes better than the store’s and that I can make a whole bunch at once and freeze it. So I do it. I like my cookies better than Pepperidge Farm’s. I love nothing more than the smell of fresh bread baking. I like the feeling of having a home cooked meal that I worked damn hard to make.

Plus having this to look at while I bake is pretty fun:

See, I don’t have a full time job. Not on the books anyway. Aside from being a nurse one day a week, I have the hard job of raising human beings to be good, honorable, disciplined people. That someday knowing those kids’ll go out into the real world and perhaps raise kids of their own. That’s not an easy task. And it gets daunting. And frustrating. And while the majority of the time I love, love, love being a mother, there are times where I just need a break.

So I bake. I cook. I make crafts. I’m good at being a Mom. But I want to be good at other things, too. So instead of having my day be filled with kids, kids, kids, I fill my day with kids, fun, projects, baking, the gym, tantrums and hugs. I couldn’t imagine my life any other way.

I work hard at being a Mom and since I don’t get a paycheck, a home cooked meal, a cute craft on the wall and “I love you, Mommy,” followed by kids being attached to my legs is payment enough.

It’s just enough.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on October 27, 2011, in Cassie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. In my opinion, being a stay at home mom is like working two full time jobs. I got a taste of it on maternity leave. You don’t get to go home and relax at the end of the day, it just keeps going and going. But you make it look easy, even though it’s not. And I love your crafts!

  2. Also, Mae is getting so big!

  3. Sing it with me:
    I can wash out 44 pairs of socks and have ’em hangin out on the line
    I can starch & iron 2 dozens shirts ‘fore you can count from 1 to 9
    I can scoop up a great big dipper full of lard from the drippins can
    Throw it in the skillet, go out & do my shopping, be back before it melts in the pan
    ‘Cause I’m a woman! W-O-M-A-N, I’ll say it again…

    You are a sturdy and hardy Norse pioneer woman!

    (a sun burst out of shims… now you’re just showing off…)

  4. definitely super! And that mirror is awesome!

  5. Who is that baby?! She looks so different from that angle.

    I saw the bookshelf on Facebook and thought it was fiiiiiine, but it’s super-cute here! And of course I love the 70s-ish mirror.

    But you ARE crazy.

    CRAZY-TALENTED!

    Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, look what I did there.

  6. Your kid philosophy is just like mine (would be), only without the bacon.

    Hardy Norse pioneer woman indeed!

  7. You are such a talented lady! Your blessings looking up to you are just darling and growing so quickly. Can I be you when I grow up?

  8. Everybody keeps telling me to enjoy my crafting/baking/sewing/decorating now, because I’ll NEVER EVER EVER EVER EVER get to do it again once Harper gets here.

    But because of you, I know those people are full of shit.

    That’s my way of saying thank you, Super Mom!

  9. Super is my vote! And I love that sunburst mirror! And the picture of Mae at your feet. She’s adorable.

  10. I am getting back to cooking more “real” meals, and I am starting to bake more (1. it’s fun to do with my girls and 2. I like baking from scratch better than buying pre-packaged stuff with a lot of crap it in), but I totally let myself off the hook all the time. And I’m not project mom — I never was, so I don’t miss it. 🙂

    i think regardless of whether we work or not, do crafts or not, cook/bake or not all the time, we — all people, all parents — are looking for a nice balance.

    I do like that sunburst mirror though. Bet Flora would help me with that…

    • And think of what you’re teaching your girls! The sunburst mirror was super easy, just heavier than I anticipated. So it’ll have to be anchored to the wall…

  1. Pingback: Let them eat paint! | Sisters From Different Misters

Leave a Reply

