A crafting bender is better than a drinking bender, right?

So, I’ve been on a bit of a crafting bender as of late. And it’s so much more than paper mache and popsicle sticks.

A few weeks ago Matt and I decided that our house is too cluttered because, yes, it’s too cluttered. And I hate clutter. But my house is cluttered. So I guess that means I have to declutter it. Which is a lot of work.

Now, I’m no where near close to being a hoarder, but I have a lot of crap. Not necessarily worthwhile things, but  rather I have a problem with tossing a kid’s drawing away because they said it was for me. But in any given drawing session done by the kids, I get between 2 to 10 drawings. And each one is special! And unique! And the only one they’ve ever drawn for me! (Well, that’s what Claire tells me.)

Every so often, I’d go through a bout where I’d just trash a bunch of stuff. Random toys that are missing pieces, drawings and dried up dandelions that the kids pick for me.

But that wasn’t enough.

I decided to start with the playroom. Simple enough. It’s a horribly cluttered room that really serves no purpose. It was constantly messy and I got into more arguments than I care to remember with the kids about it. And I wanted an office. Or at least a space for Matt and I to keep our stuff that’s out of the kids’ reach. Or a desk space for the kids to sit, too.

That’s when I concocted an idea for an 11 1/2 foot desk. I got the idea from a blog that has some fantastic designs.

So, I was on a mission to find something that could serve as a base. This then brought me to Construction Junction, a place that goes into homes and buildings that are about to be demolished, and save as much as they can for resale. After spending two hours searching, all I found was 10 square tiles for a dollar and a wooden chair that was missing its seat for 8 dollars.

Then I saw it. Sure, it had nothing to do with my 11 1/2 foot desk, but it was beautiful! It just needed to be scrubbed and painted and it’d be as good as new. What was it? It was a 5 foot tall, 4 foot wide dresser from the 1940’s. It was made out of solid wood and had a 225 dollar price tag on it. To buy something like that in a retail store would cost hundreds if not thousands of dollars. I had to have it.

So I got it – for 165 dollars. Negotiation is a wonderful thing. I, of course lack that skill and was happy that an old friend works for the place and got me a discount.

So yesterday, after 5 COATS OF PAINT, it was done! It just needed to be brought upstairs, to which I say, thank GOD for amazing neighbors. Matt and Steve got that sucker upstairs and here it sits:

The mirror on top is only temporary, because my shim sunburst mirror will go on the wall above, but until then that’s how it looks.

165 dollars worth of awesome.

While that was going on, I was sanding, staining and sealing 12 foot boards for my desktop and going to Ikea.

And we all know how much I love Ikea. So I dragged my best friend Ian along, because, that’s what friends are for, right?

I got my bases for the desk and proceeded to put them together:

I had to sit on it to get the sides to line up. Annoying Swedish-made furniture.

And Ian was ever so helpful:

(Note, this was taken AFTER he rolled over from laying on his back. He upgraded from dosing off to texting.)

No, he really did help.

A zillion hours later, we had two bookshelves and a four drawer thing that will serve as the base for my monstrosity.

So KATIE ETT, that’s why I’ve been missing for 6 days. Because I decided to do an annoying amount of decluttering which has taken over my life.

Yesterday I was at Lowes at 7:30 in the morning buying 12 foot long boards and stain.

Today I used a circular saw and didn’t lose an appendage.

And I started refinishing and reupholstering a chair.

So no worries, kids. Blogging will ensue.

Hopefully it won’t take me 6 days to get it written.

And yes, I didn’t loose my children or something. They still do exist while I’m doing all these projects. Mud, hockey, walkers and Bubble Guppies are wonderful.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on November 3, 2011, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. Daaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaang, that is a beautiful dresser. I love those tiny drawers up top. And think you should also use it as a desk by buying a 4-foot-high chair that you trampoline up into. Hey, I should be an interior decorator.

    I suppose this is a reasonable excuse not to blog, only because it gives you more convenient places to blog from in the future.

    • See, now we’re thinking! Pretty sure the dresser is the size of your average New York City studio apartment…so I don’t think you’d be able to fit the trampoline, too.

  2. I cannot wait to see a picture of the 11 foot long desk!

  3. So, someday you need to come to my house in DuBois and tell me all about what the “f” I should do there. I have nothing on the walls, I’ve barely even changed the paint and I have no idea where to start….. p.s. did I mention we’ve lived there for 4 years lol? Fantastic and I also cannot wait to see the desk!

    • You sound like my old neighbors. They lived in their house for 5 years and never once painted the walls except for when they had a pipe burst and had to replace the water damage. Not to mention, they had no wall art.

      How can you have nothing on the walls!? It boggles the mind.

      • It’s called “Lack of Creativity” with a dash of “Lack of Motivation” lol! I’m not very good at seeing the bigger picture of the room. My office is a gigantic mess. I’m thinking I may do an overhaul. I have these grand ideas, but no idea of how to make it fit in my home.

        Here’s an example…. I have a lovely fireplace with a beautiful mantle. I had nothing to put above it, but I found the fireplace cover in the basement and propped it up on the mantle. It’s been there for 4 years. It look silly. So, I just bought a giant mirror to put above that. I’m hoping it helps. I’ve had the mirror for over a week and it’s still sitting next to the fireplace, waiting to be hung. Ugh….. keep sharing the crafty- design ideas. Maybe I can figure out how to use them!

  4. I still prefer the “bender” kind of bender. Not as photogenic, though.

  5. I love that dresser (and that amazing little zebra toy, what is that? I think Sarah would like it).

    You’re inspiring. So much so that maybe I’ll start working for something to hang on my giant blank wall in my living room.

    • You mean the jump thing? My Mom got it for Claire at her first birthday off of eBay. You can find it on Amazon.com for a ridiculous price. I think my Mom paid 30 bucks for it or something. Either way, the kids spend obscene amounts of time spinning on that damn thing to the point where I want to barf.

  6. Your title made me think of people who homebrew craft beers. Two birds, one stone.

    Jean wants one of Ikea’s full wall wardrobe units. Dreading putting that monster together with one little hex wrench.

    • My dad does that! I still haven’t tried it yet, though. I’m feeling a little sad now thinking about that fact.

      I’m going send a hastily written email to him now.

      (And – Oh yah, have fun with making THAT. Drink Bourbon. Usually solves all the problems.)

  7. It’s nearly as tall as me but wow! I love that dresser! Amazing steal! 🙂

  8. A drinking bender comes with its own rewards, to be sure, but in this case, your crafting bender is AMAZING. I love the dresser so much!

  1. Pingback: The anatomy of a chair | Sisters From Different Misters

Leave a Reply

