The anatomy of a chair

This is a story of how I got a fantastic chair for EIGHT DOLLARS. It just required a little (well, a lot) of work.

Along with my fantastic dresser buy, I purchased an old wooden chair for 8 bucks. I was really hoping that there’d be two, but alas, I only found the one. But! It’s a fantastic one of a chair.

However, it was obviously missing the seat part. And it was kind of groaty. But me, being me, saw the potential of greatness. So me and my fancy jigsaw cut out a seat for my future fabulous chair.

(Ignore Boscoe the cat.) Now, what it needed was comfort. For my sister’s birthday this past year, I had made her an apron:

Cute, right? And since I don’t understand the concept of: you’ll only need a half a yard of fabric. I ordered a full yard. Score for me in the future!

But we’re not done yet!  I chose the dots over the stripe fabric because I wanted to paint the chair blue. I had some leftover paint from way back when I painted Claire’s room, so score Cassie, again!

After three coats of paint, an acrylic sealer and many hours of dry time later…VOILA!

C’est chaise magnifique!

Chair: 8 dollars
Paint: free
Fabric: free
Batting: free

That equals win in my book.

In the background of the photo, you may notice the starts of my desk area. I’m about 75% done at this point, and I’ll show you what I’ve got thus far:

Now, please don’t judge, because it’s not done yet! This is just a teaser. I’m going to screw the tops down into the bookshelves, touch up the stain on the front edge, clean up my mess and retreat the top with another layer of sealer.

What I’ve done so far this morning was raise up the drawers with wooden stilts. I painted them white and liquid nailed them on. (Yes, I used the phrase liquid nailed. I meant it, too.) From this angle, it looks really awkward, but I assure you, from straight on, it looks quite normal. I also have absolutely no artwork on the wall yet. That’s fun time for me, so it’ll be taken care of next week.

Either way, that’s 11 1/2 feet of pure wooden desktop. And when it’s done it’ll be awesome – with my fantastic blue chair.

I just have to find one for Matt now.

He can just stand for now.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on November 4, 2011, in Cassie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I think I’m going to have to fly you back down to Louisiana to help me with my dining room chairs… and my wall art. Please come back.

    • This made me laugh so hard out loud. You know when I come back, you can use me as your personal bitch. (That sounded WAY dirty.) Remember – I will g-chat you through it! Think of me as Martha just without the cardigans.

  2. And I want to meet you now…. You are So Gifted!!!!!

  3. Does your husband know he married Al Borland?

  4. CASSIE. This is awesome stuff. I can’t believe you can use a saw. When I see these interior design shows and art shows (do you watch “Work of Art”?) and people just whip out their wood shop skillz, I’m always astounded. Nice work!

  5. I have to admit you made a miracle out of that chair. It was pretty scary looking! Now it’s fab! You need your own tv show. 🙂

  6. I am so jealous of your mad jigsaw skillz.

    I am also jealous that your husband trusts you with a jigsaw.

    Maybe once my hormones settle down…

Leave a Reply

