g chat, scrabble and making bagels

The first three hours of my day today could be summed up as: Lazy. We watched two movies (The Little Mermaid and The Secret of the Nimh,) and ate yogurt.

From 11-1, however, could be summed up as: You crazy lady, why you do so much? In a two hour span, I made bagels, two loaves of bread, vacuumed, mopped, did laundry and played scrabble with Katie Ett.

I used to pull this kind of crap when I was pregnant and it’d annoy Matt to no end. Especially because at 7 o’clock at night, I’d put my feet up and whimper.

“You do too much,” he’d say. “Why can’t you be like a normal person and space all that stuff out over the course of a week?”

Because I’m me, of course.

While sitting through the last movie…to which I’m still confused about the whole thing, I suddenly got a craving for bagels.

I’ve made a lot in my life, but never bagels. I had no idea how they were made. Personally, I thought Panera waved a magic wand and BAM they appeared.

With cinnamon sugar chunks in them.

Anyhow – bagels.

I set up my kitchen in my usual fashion for when I want to bake and yet still have witty conversations.

And listen to music, of course.

So, between the kneading, the mixing, the rising and the baking, I played scrabble and mopped the floor.

Because that’s totally normal.

So. Let’s talk bagels.

After you mix all the stuff together, you let them rise in little dough balls.

Cute, no?

Then, after they rise, you roll them into little snakes and then make circles.

And then, like Jesus, you make them rise again for 20 minutes.

But then, you do the craziest thing…

You boil them.

I know. Weird.

But then you get back to good and bake them.

And as I sit here typing this, I can honestly tell you that, yes, in fact they taste like bagels.

Rather – when I told Ett, it turned into : HOLY SHIT THESE ACTUALLY TASTE LIKE BAGELS.

But that’s neither here nor there.

Here’s the recipe! (Courtesy of Allrecipes.com)

  • 1 teaspoon active dry yeast
  • 1 1/4 cups warm milk (110 to 115 degrees F)
  • 1/4 cup butter or margarine, softened
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 3 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

How to get ‘er done:

In a mixing bowl, dissolve yeast in warm milk. Let sit for a few minutes while it ferments and gets frothy.

Add the butter, sugar, salt and egg yolk and mix well.

Stir in enough flour to form a soft dough.

Turn onto a floured surface; knead until smooth and elastic, about 6-8 minutes. (Or be lazy like me and have your stand mixer and dough hook do all the work.)

Shape into 10 balls and place on the counter to rise for about 60 minutes.

Once about double in size, or at least noticeably puffy, roll them out into 8 inch long snakes and create a circle. Place on a floured surface. Cover and let rest for 20 minutes.

In a large saucepan, bring water to a boil. Drop bagels, one at a time, into boiling water. Leave them for about a minute on each side then remove with a slotted spoon and place 2 in. apart on greased baking sheets.

Bake at 400 degrees F for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown. Remove from pans to wire racks to cool.

DELICIOUS.

(By the way, Ett, PING.)

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on November 29, 2011, in Cassie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. This post is not nearly enough about me.

    But luckily, those ZA-MAZING bagels make up for it. They actually look–dare I say?–better than the ones the pros make. The browned part reminds me of the char on a steak, and obviously the only way to make a bagel better is to make it like a steak.

    I’d like to see the “after” shot with the cinnamon cream cheese next time, thx. You don’t know how vicariously I’m living here.

  2. I made soft pretzels, and the process is similar. And, yes, they tasted surprisingly like soft pretzels. Next time i’m making cheese sauce to go with them.

  3. Vicariously? Count me in on that. I haven’t had bagels in months. And I’m dieting right now. So no bread at all for me.

    It makes me so very sad.

    nom. sniff. nom nom.

    • This makes me sad. I was telling Ett that a 25 pound bag of flour lasts me about 3 weeks if I’m lucky.

      I just pack in more hours at the gym…it’s all good….(or so I tell myself.)

  4. I am so impressed. Making bread is so daunting to me and you just do it like it’s nothing. And you boil them? Who knew?

  5. Next, Matzah balls and challah bread? You’re such a mensch!

  6. Ok. Now I have GOT to try this! I am super excited to have my own kitchen now.

    And the minute we opened the breadmaker machine we HAD to try it out… Though I secretly want to try it out on my own one day…. like in the oven. I am seriously curious about the pretzels because these newlyweds heart, stars, and rainbows them…

  7. “And then, like Jesus, you make them rise again for 20 minutes.”

    BAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!

    I always wondered how boiling figured into bagel-making. Now I know!

  1. Pingback: Homemade Bagels | Sweet and Saucy

Leave a Reply

