Big surprise! (updated)

That’s my kind of surprise!

(It’s for Dick’s Sporting Goods Marathon, FYI. Dirty, dirty people.)

(Second side note, did you see that photo there? Claire took it! Photography genius that kid is. I should post the 10 photos she took of Luca’s Matchbox cars.)

The real big surprise is that Jess and I are starting a food blog! A nice little slice of internet where we get to share our fun eats from the North to the South.

This is huge, guys. Huge. I love to bake, I love to cook. We know this. But, aside from the gym, it’s my way to decompress while raising three kids. And now, I, along with Jess, get to share our favorite recipes with the world. This is so super fun. Jess designed it, and I won’t even begin to claim I had anything to do with it. She also set up the whole site, added all the plugins needed and told me not to touch anything.

Wise decision.

This is why we’re friends.

Me:  I’d love to start a food blog. Would you be able to help me?

Jess: Sure do you need help setting up the actual blog? Or design? Or what?

Me: Um, all that, and bake stuff, too? And take pictures of them and then write up the recipe?

Jess: So you want me to be in a cooking blog with you?

Me: Wow, that’s a great idea!!

And here we are.

The best part of it all is that she’s in the South. So it will be pretty diverse. I was trying to think of all the things us Northerners are known for, but I couldn’t think of a thing.

That’s sad.

I will, however, make sure to make a Classic Pittsburgh salad.

Promise.

(For those of you scratching your heads, here in Pittsburgh, we put fries on top. What? We’re classy n’at.)

So…when Jess is ready for me to say the word, I’ll launch the link and allow it to blow your minds. Until then, what kind of food would y’all love a recipe for?

I got a million of ’em!

UPDATE! And we’re live! Come see us!!

 
Sweet and Saucy

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on February 27, 2012, in Cassie and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Cannot wait to see it!

  2. This is so AWESOME! I’m so happy for you and Jess and so excited that you’re launching a recipe site. I love recipes and can spend hours looking for them. I totally want your bread recipes – I need to get another stand mixer stat! Since I sold it because I never used it, I’ve needed tons. But I can always borrow my moms.

  3. I am so thrilled about this, though I’m still having trouble wrapping my brain around how I became a joint blogger in this endeavor. I’m thrilled that we’re doing it together though!

  4. So excited! Low-carb and slow-cooker recipes for meeeeeeeeeeeeee, please!

    I like the name you two eventually came up with, by the way!

  5. Deb K From Harrisburg

    Congratulations! On a tangentially related matter, my 19 year old son who is at Carnegie Mellon is turning 20 on Monday (yes, I feel SO old that both of my “babies” will be in their 20s as of Monday) and I’m trying to find a bakery in P’burgh that will deliver a cake to him. Any ideas? Thanks!!!

  6. Added to the ol’ Google Reader!

    And I second Ett’s request for no-grain/low-sugar recipes.

Leave a Reply

