72 and Sunny

Yesterday was 72 degrees and sunny. To say I was happy would be an understatement. We had everyone over at the house for Carly’s birthday. While we waited for everyone to arrive, the kids and I sat outside enjoying the perfectly blue skies and sunshine.

My favorite tree is budding. This makes me giddier than a kid on Christmas morning.

 I am about 95% convinced that Sadie suffers from SAD, Seasonal Affective Disorder. So the sun and warm weather means she gets to be outside.

 

She hates the camera more than any other dog in the planet. See the amount of worry in her eyes? It’s like she believes the camera is going to steal her soul or beat her with a stick.

So I let her be to enjoy the sunshine.

 Luca rode his trike in the cul de sac. I love that he’s secure enough in his man hood to ride this particular one. I’ve threatened to spray paint it, but he’ll hopefully grow tall enough soon so that he can ride his Diego bike and leave the trike for Mae.

Claire rode Fast Star. That’s what she named her bike.

In her glitter jeans, no less.

The birthday girl showed up and posed with flowers.

Maelie was freed from the house and didn’t quite know what to make of the sunny day.

We drank beer.

We played a very competitive game of Trouble.

Of course, the dang birthday girl won. But Claire and I were contenders.

I got some fantastic shots of Maelie.

She had no idea what Carly was trying to teach her.

For the record, it was whistling.

It was a very successful birthday party for Carly. There was cake, burritos, beer, sunshine, happy kids, dirt and windows wide open.

We laughed over stories of chewing tobacco mishaps, bedroom furniture and odd cat idiosyncrasies.

Adults are SO WEIRD.

It was a great day.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on March 12, 2012, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. HA. I love how happy Luca is riding his homosexual trike.

    Looooooove that closeup of Mae, obviously, and wish Mae-a-Day was still in effect. I think you need to mass-follow a bazillion people on Tumblr so they’ll notice you and make you famous.

    One of my co-workers just called you a MILF while reading this over my shoulder. So happy birthday to YOU!

  2. That photo of Mae is amazing… almost as amazing of that photo of Sadie dog with her tongue out. I think Sadie and I are going to be the best of friends. What a great day for a birthday!

  3. Leave Luca’s trike alone… it’s blue, fer cryin’ aht lahd.

    Mae’s expression in the second to last pic… the WTF? look… get used to that. That will become permanent during the teen years.

  4. LOVE that pic of Mae! Her eyes are huge and beautiful! Also, the last 2 pictures are the BEST…wth look, then the DOH pic. lol. You go, Luca! You rawk that trike! I am truly digging Claire’s glasses! They look great!

    By the way, the picture of Sadie…with her eyes closed and tongue hanging out…that is exactly how I look when I am out in the beautiful sunshine 😉

  5. What a great birthday! I think I’m going to hire you as my official party planner from now on.

  6. Yes! Today is the first no-coat-to-work day of the year. A most underrated day of the year.

    You shouldn’t play Strip Trouble in front of the children!

Leave a Reply

