It’s a Maelie thing

It’s funny how quickly babies go from being completely useless to walking, feeding themselves and getting into all kinds of trouble.

Maelie is no exception.

Recently, she’s started making her needs known a lot more than just “WAAA! I’M HUNGRY!” or “WAAA! I’M DIRTY!” She’s now coming up to me with requests. For example:

Last week, she discovered that putting boots on was super fun. Like, ridiculously fun.

She followed me all over the house with Luca’s rain boots. And every couple of minutes, she’d make it known that she needed those boots on.

I’d put the boots on, but since her feet are half the size of Luca’s, they would quickly come off.

So I’d hear, stomp, slap, stomp, slap as she’d walk down the hall with one boot on, the other foot bare. Then she’d get angry as the boot would fall off.

And then the game would begin.

Maelie: Aaaah! Eeee! EEEEEEHHHHH!
Me: Mae. For the love of all that’s good, I JUST PUT THESE ON YOU.
Maelie: EEEEEEHHHHH!!
Me: Sigh.

This went on for about 2 hours as I cleaned, cooked and did normal around the house things. She just wouldn’t stop. She followed me everywhere toting those boots.

I mean, it was adorable, don’t get me wrong, but goodness. It got a little ridiculous.

However, she’s super helpful around the house.

She stacks her Cheerios nice and neatly.

She does the dishes.

And best of all, she feeds the dog.

Good thing, too, because Sadie could stand being put on a diet.

It’s funny. She’s been here for a little over a year, and already, she’s growing too fast. She can make sound enough decisions that amaze me. She understands the word no, she knows how to tell me that she’s tired without flipping out, and she is super patient. I mean, she’s demanding, don’t get me wrong. She loudly makes her needs known. But if we’re at a store, or somewhere in public, she doesn’t throw a tantrum or give us a hard time.

She’s really a good kid.

So, as she goes deeper into her second year here, I can’t wait to hear what she has to say. Because, seriously, already? She’s hilarious. Once those things start pouring out of her mouth, watch out.

Now if I could just get her to change her own diapers…

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on March 14, 2012, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Someday, Mailie and Michael are going to compare notes and be like, “Being baby number 3 totally made us laid back, dude.”

    That picture of her standing in the dishwasher made me laugh. Michael does the same dang thing.

  2. I can’t get over how big and cute she’s getting. The things that entertain them at this age amaze me. And I can’t wait to see what Mae has to say!

  3. That cheerio stacking takes lots of concentration lol! In reference to her feeding the dog “Good thing, too, because Sadie could stand being put on a diet.” is hilarious!!!

    What a cute little Maelie! I too cannot wait to hear what she has to say!

  4. mrsbachelorgirl

    Hey, that’s probably a gourmet meal as far as Sadie-dog is concerned. Good job, Mae Moo!

  5. I usually don’t find it cute when kids do things to disrupt their parents lives as a person who’s too selfish to have her own kids, but . . . dangit, she is cute. Especially when standing in the dishwasher. I just don’t want her to grow up anymore, even though I know your big kids are adorable, too!

  6. The food in the dog bowl has to be the funniest and cutest thing! I love that! haha. I’m looking forward to when my son is at that fun age, but I’m in no hurry for him to get there!

Leave a Reply

