lesson learned

Parents. Hear me now. If you have young children, especially. When your first born is a baby and is sleeping, MAKE NOISE. Vacuum, listen to music, have a conversation. Just enough to make the sleeping baby aware of it with the ability to block it out.

Why?

Because last night, when there was a louder than usual thunderstorm going on, Claire woke up, ran into the hallway, climbed into bed with me and had a death grip on her ears with two blankets over her head.

When Matt went to check on Luca, Luca said, “What’s that?” Matt said, “Thunder,” and Luca responded, “Oh, OK,” and went back to bed.

Maelie? She slept through the whole thing.

Lesson learned.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on March 16, 2012, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Dually noted! 🙂 I was worried about the laundry room being right outside of the babies room but I guess as long as I run it when he’s a baby and sleeping he’ll just get used to it. I’ve heard about making noise while they’re sleeping as opposed to trying to keep things hushed so that they learn to sleep through it, so after this confirmation too, I’ll definitely be doing any normal noises that I possibly can.

  2. Daycare noise has accomplished this for us. She sleeps right through the storms too!

  3. mrsbachelorgirl

    Yup! I never, ever tiptoe around Harper. This is not a quiet household, and all its occupants, including her, have to be able to live with that.

  4. One of my friends was just telling me this the other day! I’m sure parents never think of it, because of course you’re like, “I would do ANYTHING to keep this baby from waking up for 15 minutes so I can finally take a shower for the first time in a week.”

    I mean it when I say you should write a parenting book.

  5. You should make this a PSA or take out an ad or something. I’m sure most new parents don’t even think about this. Flora, actually, wouldn’t sleep without some kind of background noise. We played CDs (she really liked Miles Davis) or the radio to help her soothe to sleep. You gotta remember, those kids came from a really noisy place! 😉

Leave a Reply

