Why Group Fitness Works

When I started going to the gym religiously a few years ago, I did it on my own. I was great about going to the gym, I was OK about working out, but I sucked at motivating myself to go harder.I needed someone to push me.

Plus I started to burn out on the dreadmill and elliptical.

One thing I lack, that I really should work on, is my mental endurance. My brain tells me to quit and I used to listen to it.

Then I started group fitness.

There are plenty of reasons why people won’t do it. The biggest, I’m sure, is because they’re afraid someone will judge them. And I’m sure that’s partially true. I, however, use the person next to me as a motivator. When I see them pushing harder, I feel as if I should, too. When someone uses more weight, I think I should, too.

I hate to be shown up.

So I started small with an abs class with a small showing. Then I progressed to spinning. Then I moved on to Body Flow (yoga) and Body Pump (weights.) Before I knew it, I wasn’t using the gym anymore, I was using the group X rooms and the spin rooms and the yoga rooms. I couldn’t remember the last time I had been on an elliptical.

I was making friends, too.

Then, the most amazing thing started happening: I saw results. I mean, huge results. Not just, in my physique, but my attitude, my drive.

Imagine if you will, an hour long class where if you were to suddenly get up and leave, would be noticed. Instead, you’re forced to stay for an hour, sweating, yelling, pushing yourself to the limit. Does pride have a lot to do with it? Heck yes. A bruised ego is worse than having an actual bruise.

And because of that, I’m where I am now. Stronger, fitter, healthier. Training for a MARATHON. Teaching. Participating. Having so much fun.

I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

I am Cassie and I’m a group fitness junkie.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on March 23, 2012, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. mrsbachelorgirl

    Now that Rat-Rat is officially four months old (today!), she can stay in the daycare at the gym, and I am SO READY to go!

  2. I swear I’ll do it. One day. One day soon.

  3. I’ve always thought classes would be good for me, and I can’t think of anyone I’ve ever heard complain about group fitness. I have sort of the opposite problem you have, though, where I’ll purposely slow down if Kamran’s going fast next to me, because I’m like, “Well, I’m not going to keep up, so I might as well not try at all.”

    • See, now that makes me sad. I always say this during RPM: “You are so much stronger than you give yourself credit for.”

      • Actually, it would be better to say, “You are so much stronger than that for which you give yourself credit.”

        Ok, I’m kidding. If you said that in front of people you would probably get smacked. Then you’d be forced to kick their asses.

  4. whiskersinkitchens

    Hey It’s Elisa Ashley…this is my alias (cooking blog) I just got your note on my birthday post about the running pants. State Farm is good for all kinds of things. Except apologies apparently, so you’ll have to take my word when I say I’m sending one for not getting back here sooner. I’m struggling with my schedule lately. When I get it so one area of my life works, all others break down. :/ My Matt and I have been talking about fitness lately. We’re both out of shape, although he lifts 200 pound tires all day. He’s been exercising to get rid of his belly and I get no exercise unless you count vacuuming…and really…who’s heard of the SUCK your pounds away routine? Matt told me he’s been eating better, stretching and doing certain forms of crunch to hit his abs. I said “I’ve been working out too. So far it’s just mostly visualizing…in my head.” Yeah…I’ll be a size 8 in no time.

Leave a Reply

