This is a fantastic, perfectly written post on how I feel. Thank you Jeremy for writing this. Thank you.

Chasing the Star of Swords: Sword Dancing on a Watson Fellowship

I’m a Feminist.

I don’t shave my armpits. Or my legs. I don’t have sex with men and I don’t wear a bra. I’m an atheist, am not planning on being a mother, and I never really liked Barbies.

And yes, I am a man.

I started calling myself a feminist during my first year at college. In part, this was in response to meeting so many wonderful well-educated, independent women who seemed afraid to assume the title. Too many times I heard, “Well obviously I think that women should have the same rights and opportunities as men, but I’m not, like, a feminist or anything.”

I started replying, “Well, I’m a feminist.”

I’m not going to rehash all the reasons why people shy away from this label. The Regressive party (Get it? Cause it’s the opposite of progressive!) has managed to infuse the word feminist with an image bra-burning…

View original post 989 more words

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on March 27, 2012, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. It IS a great post! Thanks for reposting it!

  2. I thought you just reblogged the drawing and were admitting that you don’t shave your armpits and legs. And I was like, “Wow, go Cassie.” And then I saw the thing about you not having sex with men. And I was like, “Okay, yeah, I guess men give up their manhood when they become husbands, sure.” And then I saw the not-being-a-mother thing. Oh, yeah, and then the “I’m a man” thing. Oops.

    But yeah, I don’t usually call myself a feminist just because I’m not one of those women who’s read all of the literature and can spout a thousand facts and figures about the inequalities that exist. All I know is that I can feel the inequalities, that I’ve experienced them. It is pretty incredible, the stigma that goes along with the word “feminist”; when I tell my male friends who haven’t met my best friend that she has a Master’s in women’s studies, they assume so many things about her from that fact alone.

  3. LOVE THIS.

    Love, love, love.

    When I hear women say they’re not feminists, I tend to think we shouldn’t be friends anymore.

  4. Also, I hate wordpress. It makes me log in and then uses a STUPID blog some old person made me create for him that’s since been deleted. Grr.

  5. I think that to not consider yourself a feminist is to accept that women are 2nd class citizens.

Leave a Reply

