Imagine

Claire told me yesterday that she’d be rich if she could make money off being happy. She said her happy smile is worth gold.

I immediately thought of my favorite John Lennon quotes:

“When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.” 

However, I just asked Claire what she wanted to be when she grew up and she smiled at me and said, “A FIREFIGHTER!”

Luca wants to be a police officer.

(This is also the boy who doesn’t say cement truck, rather concrete mixer.)

Today, Claire brought me her toy “Chickie-Poo” and said, she’s a warrior! But she needs a cape. Can you tie on the toilet paper?

The helmet that Chickie-Poo is wearing is from a sippy cup.

Now that’s thinking.

Claire loves to imagine and play games with no solid rules and she does pretty good on her own.

Luca is a loner, more or less. He plays with Claire most of the time, but when he starts to get tired he gets into books.

Every day, this is how you’ll find him.

And Mae, she does the same.

So, I guess, even though my kids right now want to be firefighters and police officers, if they keep going on the track they are on now, they’ll be all that and more. They’ll be happy, too.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on April 5, 2012, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. No, they’ll be NERDS! Book-loving NERDS! Virgins until they’re 40! But well-read virgins.

    That picture of Luca is priceless, though. You can’t be mad at the kid for making a mess. I hope you read them The Monster at the End of This Book!

  2. Reminds me of when my nephew Daniel was wee, I’d be over and he’d drag out a photo album and want me to “Read pictures” with him.

  3. I love Claire’s imagination. I have a feeling Sarah is going to fit in with your book-loving kids just fine.

  4. mrsbachelorgirl

    Chickie-Poo is one fashionable…uh…chickie-poo.

    That photo of Luca is the best.

Leave a Reply

