My Body

My body was born in Minnesota in the dead of winter to a single mother who worked damn hard to give me a good life. It was cared for and loved and given every opportunity to be a good, kind individual.

My body has survived cutting and neglect, pain and loss, change and change and more change.

My body went through basic training on a broken foot and pelvis, which was more pain than a 17 year old should have to face in a short time period, yet I persevered. And I learned so many things about myself.

I learned I can.

My body has sat on countless examining tables with doctors shaking their heads at my xrays and bone scans saying, “Your body will never run normally again.”

My body laughed at them when they told me I can’t.

The Army may have broken some of my bones, but it didn’t break my drive, and I know what my body is capable of.

This summer marks 10 years since I left for Ft. Leonard Wood, MO. 10 years since I was told no.

My body has covered more miles than I can recall. I’ve done half marathons, 10K’s, 5K’s, I feel like going out and running K’s, pushing heavy stroller K’s and look ma, no pain K’s.

In 11 days, my body will be pushing its limits and going the distance: 26.2 miles. This isn’t news. We know this. I know this, my body knows this, my brain knows this.

I’m not asking for your money anymore. A very kind individual who would like to remain anonymous already handled that for me. I met my minimum goal.

What I’m asking for is your support. Your kind words, your positive statements, your raunchy catch phrases. Anything for me to keep in my head as I run.

Someone asked me why I’m doing a marathon. I guess unless you’re in the same mind set as me, it seems silly to do this. So why? Why put my body through this?

I do it because someone once told me I can’t. I do it because people tell me it’s crazy. I do it because I’m Cassie freaking Conti and I don’t back down once I set my mind to something. I make it my own personal goal to never let anyone down, and that includes myself.

So. Even if you’ve never commented here before, even if it’s just anonymous, please, tell me something good. Tell me I can. Tell me it’s all mental. Tell me sweat is sexy. Tell me the sky is blue. Tell me anything. Just tell me I can. Because while I know I can, a girl’s still allowed to be a little nervous.

Because I’m about to make my dreams come true, guys. And it’s starting with this. Team Lemieux. Next step? 26.2.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on April 24, 2012, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 48 Comments.

  1. Congrats Cassie! You got this! Know why? Cause you’re Cassie freaking Conti.. 🙂

  2. i don’t think you need me to tell you that you can do this. it seems to me you already know that you can. Listen to yourself and just do it.

  3. Um, if anybody can, it is you, dear. Just reading your marathon/fitness/teaching posts wear me out (and put me to shame). There is no doubt in my mind you are going to own this race.

  4. You can. You will. You rock. You make your Mom proud.

  5. “Victory is paid for in sweat, courage and preparation.” You’re awesome Cassie…an inspiration to us all! Give em hell! 😉

  6. You definitely can do this! You’ve obviously proved it time and time again! Just remember that you’re stronger than you think you are and you CAN do anything you set your mind to!

  7. Of course you can do it….you are a woman, & women are strong….KUDOS!!

  8. Cassie, you are one of the baddest asses I know and I believe that there’s nothing that you can’t do. You are going to kick this race’s ass, not only because your a fitness maniac, but because you can do it through sheer will power alone. I don’t even have to think twice about it.

    Now you go do your thing. No prisoners.

  9. I am blessed to read your testimony of life. You are what you think. And because you CHOOSE to think positive,you are getting it…kudos my dear!!

  10. Congratulations. With your determination, you can do anything you set your mind to.

  11. can do it…because you BELIEVE!!

  12. I am so proud of you! I know I keep saying that, but I mean it. If anyone can do this, you can. You’re amazing!

  13. I adore your mama so by proxy I love you, too. hell yes you can!!!

  14. Girl…….you GOT this!

  15. Rebecca Capicola

    Just take it one mile at a time, you can do it!!! Enjoy every moment :0).

  16. I’ll think of you doing your marathon, while I’m doing my first half marathon! Good luck to you!

  17. I said it once, I’ll say it again, Cassie, you ROCK! Seriously. I wish I had your determination and commitment. Can’t wait to hear all about it. 😀

  18. You go girl! No doubt in my mind…you convinced me!

  19. You are an inspiration, keep you head up and just do it! Every mile will mean that much more to all of us. xoxo

  20. You are awesome, your post made me cry. You are going to rock the marathon!!

  21. Cassie, you are going to make this marathon your bitch. Enjoy yourself, take it all in, and remember they’re taking your picture when you cross the finish line. I am so excited for you and can’t wait to see how you do and read about it afterwards : )

  22. *thinking of raunchy catch phrases…NOW*

    LOVE YOU, ROCKSTAR!!!

  23. Your body is exactly that…..YOUR BODY and you know what your body can do, not the doctors….You. Keep running. You need to find a group of people and become their motivator coach. Run wild run free….

  24. OF COURSE YOU CAN DO IT! I don’t have the tiniest doubt that you will do it, and you will do it greatly – you rock!

  25. Cassie, from one marathoner to another, it all comes together on race day. I have a suggestion. Don’t worry so much about time, and do concentrate on the finish line, that is the ultimate goal. To do that successfully, make yourself a pace chart but I’m going to suggest something different. Instead of what time you should be at (cumulative) each mile. I want you to run each mile thinking about someone in your life who has made a difference. So mile one, that doggone drill instructor who used to yell at you that you couldn’t and wouldn’t make it out of basic. Second mile, your oldest bestest friend etc etc. Write it on your arm. As you pass each mile, your thoughts should be on shared memories of that individual. Each of them in some way or another helped you to get to the start line and each of them now is going to help you get to the finish. Save the last 1.2 for YOU. Remember your training, your goal, your in your face determination and will to overcome and as you cross the finish line (which YOU WILL cross), smile, cry and know just how capable and loved you really are. May the sun smile from behind a cloud and the wind be at your back. Enjoy!

  26. You can do it! Your mind and body are strong! Just like Mario played hockey after radiation treatments! Go Team Lemieux!

  27. Deb K From Harrisburg

    You will do this because you want to. You will dig as deeply as you need to from your reservoir of determination and commitment. I know nothing about this of which you speak and am in total awe. Tracy’s advice seems really sensible. I cannot wait to hear about the outcome. I will cherish sharing this experience with you vicariously. All the best to you and Matt! With fond admiration, I sign off.

  28. I love the saying “fight like a girl”! I think you know there is nothing more strong than a woman with her mind set on something. 26.2 is a great fight to fight, so fight like a girl!!!! Go Cassie Go!

  29. You don’t know me but I’ve seen your photos on your Mom’s Facebook wall, I always thought you looked like a strong and determined (not to mention beautiful) person. Now I know its true, I’ve read your words, I’ve heard YOUR voice and I will be cheering your 26.2 miles along with everyone else. Go out there and fight, you’re worth it and you’re inspiring others to fight too.

    ps. Love the Mario shirt, when I was a freshman in college one of my friends dad took us to a hockey game (my first hockey game ever), he said “watch number 66, he’s a rookie and he’s going to be a superstar” I was hooked!

  30. OF COURSE YOU GOT THIS! You may experience some pain, but you will be so overwhelmed with emotion at the end. I cannot wait to hear from you post-marathon! I hope to find you somewhere at the starting line. I’ll be there, only running the half this year. Hopefully I can be there when you cross the finish line, too. 🙂 GO CASSIE, GO!

  31. I am a 54 year old woman, in SC, who started running inspired, in large part, by you.

    So, when you are thinking of people each mile of your marathon, as suggested by Tracy, think of me for a few minutes, even though you don’t know me.

    You inspired me to become a better, stronger person.

    Thank you.

    • You, dear, have left me in tears. While I do not know you, you’ve certainly made my entire night, and then some. I promise, you will be on my mind as I conquer the marathon!

  32. Cassie,
    I found your blog through your Mom’s blog and am mostly just a reader but you absoluetly can do it. I finished the Disney full marathon on January 2010 after loosing 85lbs on WW. I did it for many of the same reasons you are doing it, because people told me I couldn’t and/or wouldn’t, because people thought it was silly I had already damaged my body by being overweight why also damage it with running. I am by no means a fast runner or someone that would ever win anything but crossing that finish line 6 hours later was one of the best feelings ever. My experience was that miles 22-24 were the worst but they will end and the finish line will appear. Congrats on all you have accomplished this far and I look forward to reading your race report

    • You finished. THAT is the difference. I’m proud of you for not only taking control and losing the weight, but making a goal and sticking to it. Congratulations to you, Dora. That’s simply fantastic.

  33. Cassie, if there is anyone I know who can do this like a champ, it’s you. Everything you do in life is done right and with the best of everything you have – your crafts, your exercising, your running, your teaching fitness classes, being a mother, being a wife, a daughter, a friend, cooking, every little or big thing you do is TOP NOTCH because you.. you wouldn’t settle for less. This marathon? Wouldn’t be anything less. You’re the bees knees, Cassie!

  34. Oh, gosh, this is so annoying. All of these new people think they can come in here and steal my thunder? Now I feel like I have to say something super-offensive just to be the most memorable comment. Oh, actually, maybe I should just do something half-hearted. Okay, yeah, this is good. Here we go:

    Cassie, you are kind of a badass. And I don’t mean “kind of” in the way I mean it when I say that, like, pizza is kind of delicious. I mean that you’re just sort of a badass. You’re okay at running and okay at being a mom and okay at being a wife, but other people are better, and you’re probably going to finish somewhere in the middle of the pack.

    Oh, my gosh, saying that stuff made me feel soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo bad. But it’s memorable, right?!

    • Deb K from Harrisburg

      Katie, you are so freaking funny. BTW, I love your blog too. I’m such a blog creeper that the way I find new blogs is to look at the Blogrolls of my favorite bloggers. That’s how I found yours and Bluzdude’s blogs. Haven’t had the nerve to comment on your blog yet…someday.

      • Aww, thanks! It’s funny that I feel like you HAVE commented on my blog just because I see your comments all of the time. I’ve stolen most of my blogfriends from other blogfriends, so if you’re a creeper, I’m a creeper, too.

    • OH MY GOD. I totally expected way worse from you. Are you going soft on me, Ett?

      I keep re-reading this comment and laughing.

      • Deb K From Harrisburg

        I just caught up with this. Cassie, don’t go encouraging her to pick on me! I finally got up the nerve to say hello to her here.

  35. Oh, I KNOW you can do this! You are an inspiration to me and others in A LOT of ways and one thing I have learned from having the pleasure of meeting you and becoming your friend…is that you WILL do what you set your mind to. period. I am very proud of you. Now, kick some ass!

  36. I drove past Point State Park after work today and saw all the work they had done for this weekend’s festivities. It reminded me of your run and I just wanted to wish you luck as Sunday draws near. Based on the drive and determination you have shown everyone through your blog posts, you have this marathon in the bag. You had it the moment you decided to run it. As evidenced by the comments on these posts, you also have a lot of friends and family that support you and believe in you as well.

    One last thing…after you finish the marathon and you’re standing there waiting for Matt to bring it on home – what? It WILL happen someday. Anyway, after you both finish the marathon (in no particular order), it will be another thing the two of will have shared together.

    Good luck to you (and Matt too) on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

