Has it really been three years? A letter to Luca.

Luca.

No way has it been three years already.

Truth be told, you weren’t supposed to grow so quickly.

I don’t really know what to say, dude. I feel like I woke up from a long dream, and here we are. Three years old.

You were by far, my happiest baby. Maelie almost won, but then she went through those many months of anger, and that sealed the deal. You win.

You still are so very pleasant, and have so many different looks that make me smile.

Not to mention your blue eyes kill me.

Seriously! When did you get so big?

So what can I say about the time leading up to your third birthday?

You love the moon. Every night before you go to bed, you try to find it in the sky and say goodnight.

You used to think there were monsters chasing after us, so you’d exclaim, “We’ve gotta get outta here!” and we’d run to the car as fast as we could.

Another common phrase was – “It’s getting dark out,” or “Is it sunny time?”

Even with those few months we lost due to the PPD, we haven’t skipped a beat since. You’re still my best little man.

And you love to suck your thumb more than anything else.

You love to sing and dance and play in the sandbox.

You love to say “Cheese!”

You love being a bad ass.

You love Claire very much, and as hard as I may try, you’re still unsure of Maelie. And I get it. She tries to push you off the trampoline and tries to steal your bike.

It’s a pain.

But do as Claire has done for you – teach her how to be a good kid. Because you, dear Luca, are such a good kid. With a sweet heart and an incredible love for life.

You like to play, “How fast can daddy destroy me,” by clapping your hands and yelling, “DESTROYED!”

You like to read books with me and build castles and roads.

Oh, and play dough.

Oh! And cuddle. You like to be a snug-bug.

Luca, you’re my little man. I can’t even imagine life without you in it. And even though right now all you want to do is what you want to do and nothing of what I want you to do, I still love you.

You’re my little man, my Luca-Duc, my Super-Duc, my little dude.

You make me more happy than one little body should. You make up incredible stories, you are a great cuddle bug and you are just a joy.

When I think about all the places we’ve been and all the things we’ve done, I still can’t believe it.

Three years to some is just a blip on the radar, but three years to us, dear boy, is a lifetime of awesome.

So, today is the last day for you as a two year old.

Tomorrow you’re three.

I love you.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on May 21, 2012, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Happy Birthday, Luca-Man!

    It’s funny how he looks exactly the same way as when he was a baby.

  2. It is one of the cutest kids I’ve ever seen, and I’m not just saying that. That third photo down of the two of you is amazing. Happy birthday Luca! May your eyes be forever full of wonder.

  3. mrsbachelorgirl

    Way to make me cry, CASSIE.

    Kidding! But not really. Honestly, the love you have for your kids, including that precious boy, just breaks my heart in the BEST way.

  4. Deb K from Harrisburg

    It’s official: while I love all of your posts, my very favorites are the ones you write to your children on their respective birthdays. This blog puts to shame the google commercials (or maybe they’re Microsoft?) that advertise keeping track of your kids as they grow up! I just love how keenly observant you are of each child’s unique traits. And Luca has a smile that goes on forever! They are lucky kids and you are a lucky mom and I suspect that luck has little to do with how much you cherish each other!

  5. To think I’ve been around these parts as long as you but this is my first time here. Kind of bums me out as I sit here reading post after post smiling and knowing you’re your mother’s daughter for sure 🙂 and feeling like I’ve missed so much. But I found ya now and will continue reading for sure 🙂 What a wonderful mom you are 🙂 (and writer too).

  6. Oh, my god, I love aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaall of these photos SO. MUCH. The third one down?! The second one from the bottom?! All of the ones that basically only exist to show off his eyes?! This actually makes me want to have children, like, 1%.

    Also: brown hair!

  7. What a stud. And with those eyes, he’s gonna be a flat-out movie star lady killer, that one.

  8. Aaaaw, what cute pictures! And what a truly wonderfully written beautiful letter to Luca – you are a great mom!

Leave a Reply

