I’m going on vacation! The simple question edition.

Guys, I’m going on vacation. Like, a real live, go to the beach vacation. This is big because 1.) the last time I was at a beach I was at maybe 12 and 2.) the last time I took a family vacation was almost 4 years ago.

So. This is a big deal.

Matt asked me this morning to check with Joe to see what we need to bring. I tried to keep it simple.

Me:

Hey guys! Just going over things for the vacation! 

First question: What time can we check into the house? We’re leaving the day before and stopping half way, and don’t want to leave at 7 AM if we don’t have to Sunday morning.
 
That leads to the next question: where you do suggest we stop half way? Well, closer to the beach. We plan on driving between 6-7 hours from our house. I just don’t want to stop at some random location in Virginia and then come to find it’s the worst spot ever to stop.
 
Also, we’re going to be bringing my inlaw’s canopy for the beach. 
 
What else should we bring? Games? Shenanigans?
Joe:
So many questions, so little time.  Well, actually, there’s plenty of time, but so many questions.

Here’s a list of all that’s included with the house:

  • Oceanside
  • Internet Access
  • Cable TV
  • Central Air/Heat
  • Decks
  • Fireplace – Wood
  • Microwave
  • Screened Porch
  • Washer / Dryer
  • 150 Yards to Beach
  • Breakfast Bar
  • Community Pool
  • Basketball Goal
  • CD Player
  • Community Tennis Access w/ Fee
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill – Charcoal
  • Outdoor Shower
  • Stereo System
  • Sunday Turnover
  • Porta Crib
  • Privacy from Road
  • Sheets Provided
  • Books / Games
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Deck Furniture
  • DVD Player
  • Guest Welcome Bag
  • Pack-N-Play
  • VCR
  • Telephone
  • Rollaway Bed

I’ve also attached a check sheet from the rental agency listing stuff you can/should bring, depending upon what the rental house does or does not already have.  Some stuff we just get there, after we get into the house and find out exactly what we need.

We will be bringing our kayaks, which you are all welcome to use, and fishing equipment, maybe our tennis rackets, our big cooler and my new Jimmy Choo pumps.  Games would be great, especially if we run into bad weather.  Last year we all played Skip-Bo, the highlight of which was Carly teaching Ben how to play after he had had two beers and Carly and Terry had polished off a bottle of choco-wine.  I was the voice of reason and order, so that should tell you everything you need to know about that.  The house already has games, but who knows what?  I recommend Trivial Pursuit, mostly because I would find it really entertaining watching you people trying to beat me.  Particularly if there’s a bottle of choco-wine anywhere in the vicinity.

Check-in time is 4.  According to the rental agency, here are the check-in rules:

  • The individual who picks up the key and opens the house will be designated “King” for the week.  Due to circumstances beyond my control, that would be me.
  • Male members of the rental party must arrive wearing sombreros.
  • Female members of the rental party must arrive wearing galoshes.
  • The last member of the rental party to arrive must sing in order to gain entrance to the house, according to the King’s preferences,  In these circumstances, I prefer either a Puccini aria or a Justin Bieber medley.

One of the more annoying practices of rental agencies is that they don’t tell you the actual address until you check in to pick up the key, so I will need to have your cell numbers to contact you once I find out where the heck the place is.  Either that, or you can just meet me at the rental agency when I pick up the key shortly before 4. 

Typically Terry and I leave the day before check-in, and stay in Williamsburg, which is about a 7 hour drive for us.  The drive from Williamsburg to Duck is about 2 to 2 1/2 hours.  That helps us keep check-in day relatively low-stress since we’re not in any time-crunch to get to the agency, and there’s enough stuff going on in and around Williamsburg that it’s easy to kill time if we have to.  When we drive to Williamsburg we also typically avoid driving through the D.C. area; I have yet to drive through that area without spending at least an hour sitting in a traffic jam.  

That’s all that I can think of for now–if there’s something I missed, let me know.  Now I’m off to perform vegetal euthanasia on one of my hop plants that got knocked down and pummeled by the hail storm we had last night.  That’s okay–the plant will be back stronger than ever next summer.

This is going to be the best vacation ever.
About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on June 29, 2012, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Oh, freaky, I just posted my beach vacation post today, too. Must be that time of year. Obviously mine will be the REAL best vacation ever. I’m sorry. But it’s so.

    Our house also has a VCR. I love that this is a real thing people brag about.

  2. Do whatever you can to limit time on 95S. Timing helps a little buuuutttt…if you’re traveling on a Friday you want to be past DC as early as possible heading south. Much easier said than done with 3 kids I know.

  3. This is fantastic! I want a video of you singing in your galoshes while Matt stands beside you in his sombrero.

Leave a Reply

