Spinning for a cause

A few months ago I decided I wanted to host a spin-a-thon at my gym. I love to do things for a good cause, and what is more fun that sitting on a bike for possibly four hours?

I posted on my running club that I never even run with, but like the thought of people who run in a group together, that I was looking for a good cause.

One of the regulars, Jon, posted that he has a friend who is suffering from ALS, also known as Lou Gherig’s disease, and usually runs marathons for him, but couldn’t due to an injury.

I jumped on that idea, and we immediately got the ball rolling. My gym didn’t care that we were going to host one, and allowed non-members come without having to pay a gym fee.

So yesterday was the big day. Jon showed up with cases of water, gatorade, bananas and apples. I showed up ready to ride. I was fortunate enough to get two other instructors to teach an hour, so I ended up only having to teach two. I was prepared to do all four, but really, sitting on a bike for four hours sounds a little nuts.

But there were nuts people there. Three of my favorite members signed up to do all four hours. And they even took the regular spin class two hours prior to the start. FIVE HOURS OF SPINNING, PEOPLE.

That’s just plain nuts.

Being as it was July, the turn out wasn’t what I hoped it would be, but the people that did show up brought energy and excitement, and the instructors were great and it was just plain fun.

During the third hour, another favorite member of mine brought literally his whole family. We had butts on every bike and even not enough bikes. It was unreal. His family had also been affected by ALS, so it was a good cause for him and his family to support.

The last hour was nice, because it was just the three crazies, Jon, his wife and another one of his friends. The energy was huge, everyone was tired, but we remembered why we were there and just pushed through it all.

I was so proud of each and every one of them.

At the end we counted our donations and we had made over 1 thousand dollars for Dan and his family. ONE THOUSAND DOLLARS.

Because I had an idea.

I didn’t set out to host a spin-a-thon for my ego. I did it because I wanted to see how many people we could get together in one room, for one cause, for one day. To work our hardest, ask our bodies to do ridiculous things, to push ourselves to the limit, all for the sake of someone who can’t. Someone, who can’t talk, eat or bike anymore. Someone who didn’t ask to feel this way day in and day out. So, for one day, myself and a few other individuals put ourselves in an uncomfortable situation. We made our legs burn, our asses sore, our body tired. For the man who can’t anymore.

That’s why we did it.

For those of you who didn’t donate, but wanted a chance to, you can through this site: Our Friend Dan.

And while you’re there, take the time to read about him. About the man he once was. About how his sister was killed by a drunk driver. How he has a wife who would do anything for him. Read about that. And then ask yourself, is four hours enough?

Yesterday was one of the happiest things I’ve done in a long time. A long time. All of us in that spin room were selfless creatures who were there for a good cause. And I’m honored to have spent the afternoon with them.

And I’m already planning my next one.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on July 9, 2012, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Congrats on the awesome event! I’m so glad you were able to raise some money for a great cause. I know the family is moved.

    That’s so much spinning! Good for you guys!

  2. If what I hear about spinning is true, every one of those people who showed up is now a spinning convert and will be in your next class. Good for you, good for ALS, and good for the gym!

Leave a Reply

