the speech

I tried to write out my speech for you at least a million times. Each time, my brain froze, unable to say what I really want to say to you.

What I want to say to you comes from the heart and can’t be preplanned. It comes from the here and now.

I love you. For the past 27 years you have been the most amazing big sister and you’ve always done so much for me. When I came to you in tears over not having someone to watch Claire so I could go back to work, I didn’t even have to ask – you changed your entire work schedule for me. Drove ridiculous amounts of miles for me. Stayed in the most uncomfortable bed, for me. You’ve always been there.

And when you asked me to stand up in front of everyone and be there for you on your day, I was honored. You’ve always done so much for me that I’ve never known how to make that up to you.

So today, on your wedding day, I want to tell you thank you. For always being that person I could turn to. For being there for me every single time I’ve asked anything of you. For being my source of laughter and honesty. For being an amazing sister and friend.

You deserve happiness. You deserve this. You deserve today. And you most certainly deserve Ben. And he most definitely definitely deserves you. I wish for you a lifetime of love, happiness and knowledge that you are one of the most amazing people I’ve ever had the privilege of knowing. I’m honored to call you my sister.

So cheers to you and Ben, on this, your wedding day.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on October 28, 2012, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. You two were meant to be sisters. How you got here doesn’t matter. You were supposed to be here to be Carlene’s sister 🙂

  2. Beautifully said, Cassie…
    And congratulations, Carly and Ben! May you always be as happy as you look in that picture!

  3. I have to admit, I teared up when you gave your speech. Congrats to an amazing couple!

  4. I loved it! So sweet. I also thought Courtney’s/Cortney’s speech was touching, too, even though she said she didn’t intend it to be. You two were a great team. And Carly is a lucky lady!

  5. Awwwwww. I don’t think the speeches I gave at either of my sister’s weddings (yes, that’s one sister, two weddings. I’ve already told her next time she gets married she’d better elope) were that sweet.

Leave a Reply

