Day 6 and 7

Yesterday was a big day. And regardless of if you’re happy or not on who won the presidential race, it was a huge day. That was what I was thankful for most – being a woman and having the right to vote.

Women having rights! Proving now that we are just as equal and able bodied as our male counterparts. I was amazed yesterday at how many women turned out to vote, proving our ancestors right who had fought long and hard to gain that very right. While teaching at the gym, I welcomed people coming late to class or leaving early to go vote. I loved hearing how proud people were to vote, be it the first time or tenth time. It was huge. And I was so excited to do my part with Matt and set the example for my kids how to make your voice heard.

Speaking of being heard, today I was heard. Loud and clear. I had entered my previous blog about the Zoo Tragedy in a shortened and edited version to the Post Gazette. Yesterday, the editor called me and said that the letter I had submitted had the most unique view and she absolutely loved it.

And today it was on page A-17, in the print.

 

Along side of being heard, I am thankful that my kids are safe. That I’m not being criticized by compete strangers who don’t know me or my parenting style.

Most of all, I’m thankful that someone was willing to take my opinion and share it with thousands in a small hope that the mother reads it one day and finds peace.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on November 7, 2012, in Cassie and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Kudos to you for expressing your thoughtful and compassionate opinion, with which I wholeheartedly agree. I am sure the family of the youngster very much appreciates you saying what needed to be said. People are so quick to judge and criticize one another. It’s too easy to send a thoughtlless unkind comment through cyberspace because of the anonymity and lack of immediate dialogue. If people had to say to a person’s face the unkind things that they write in cyberspace, there would be a lot less of that happening.

  2. Well, we all knew your loudly-voiced opinions would get you somewhere someday. I think we all assumed it would be locked up in jail, but this is much preferred. Nice job!

  3. I’m also thankful for being able to vote! And that’s so great that the editor loved your piece. Well done!

  4. Well written Cass

Leave a Reply

