Day 9

Being a nurse.

I’m thankful for that.

When I had graduated high school and realized that massage therapy wasn’t really for me, I felt so lost. I remember sitting on the floor of my mom’s office at her old antique store near tears saying, “I don’t know what my future looks like. I can’t be a waitress forever.” For me, that’s scary, because as long as I could remember, I always had an idea of where I’d be a year from now or more.

My mom, very plainly, looked at me and said, “I’ve always thought you’d make a great nurse because of your caring nature.”

I looked back at her and was about to say something, then I stopped and realized, yes, that’s exactly what I’m meant to be.

Not a few months later did I apply to school, get accepted and go on a very long, hard journey to become a LPN.

While I get it, I get it, I should have been an RN, that’s neither here nor there. At the end of the day, I’m still a nurse.

When I was asked why I became a nurse later on, the fact remains, “Because my mom said I should.”

Do I always do what my mother says? No. But the difference here is that she believed in me and never stopped even when I said school was just so hard. And while I know that that’s part of a mother’s job, to support and offer kind words, the difference was, she really, truly believed with all her heart that I was meant to be a nurse. It wasn’t like she was supporting me getting tattoos or a new car, she was supporting me with what she believed to be the right thing for me.

Yes, there are days when I’m so frustrated with a certain patient or the general madness of a work day, but at the end of the day, I may have possibly saved a life. Or made it better. Or just made it easier. And that’s OK with me. That’s enough.

Because how many people can say that?

Despite if a patient has insurance or not, is on welfare or not, has a roof over their head every night or not, I still give that person the best care I know how. I don’t judge someone based on who they are or what they do, I look at them based on labs and xrays and what I need to do to make them better. With a smile. (Most of the time.)

And you’ll be hard pressed to find any other nurse who would disagree.

I was raised with a level head on my shoulders. I carry that into who I am as a nurse. I don’t force being kind or happy. It’s who I am. And as a nurse, I am thankful that I get to use both my own charisma and knowledge to make someone’s day better. That is who I am, and that will never change.

So being a nurse is what I’m most thankful for today.

 

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on November 9, 2012, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Have I ever mentioned that, like, half of the women in my family are nurses? Either nurses or teachers. Which is hilarious when you consider how terrible I’d be at both of those jobs. But hey, I’m sure glad people like you exist, and I think nurses should all be millionaires.

  2. I’m so glad you’re a nurse. I tell you, the next time I have a health emergency, I’m going to make the ambulance take me clear to Pittsburgh, so I can recuperate under your supervision.

    Wait, you’re not in pediatrics, are you? That might be awkward.

  3. I’m so glad that you’re willing to take emergency calls from distraught mothers late into the evening. You excel at being a nurse!

Leave a Reply

