Day 14: Working until it’s almost time to get up edition

My husband. He’s something. I’m proud of a lot of decisions I’ve made in my life, but the one I’m most proud of is marrying him. He’s a good man with a good head on his shoulders and when faced with adversity, he comes out on top. That’s the story of his life. Because he’s him and he won’t settle to be some schmuck. He works for what he wants and he’s set the bar to what would seem like an unattainable height, but not for Matt. Matt reaches it, then exceeds it, and then comes home and plays with the kids.

When we decided to have kids, he knew, without me telling him, that it was his responsibility, too. While, yes, I’m the main parent in the house, he has all the authority in the world and he takes all of his free time and spends it with the kids. He’s a stellar father and I’m not the only one who says it. Our kids are good kids and it’s not all my doing.

He’s been very busy with work lately. I’m not talking an extra hour a day of work, I’m talking, going in on Sunday for 9 hours, working long after the kids and I have gone to bed and even, like last night, staying at the office until nearly 3 AM to make sure his work was done.

Last night, I woke up with alarm at 12:43, noticing that his side of the bed was still cold and empty, knowing he had previously mentioned he’d be home by midnight. I texted him and he texted me back a photo of his computer screen and a bunch of stupid numbers that mean nothing to me. I asked him if he was keeping his coworker Joseph warm and he laughed.

I fell back asleep and when I awoke a few hours later, he waltzed (rather stumbled) into bed at an ungodly hour and immediately passed out.

Where was he at 8:30 this morning? You betcha. Back at work.

Life’s not always like that, but when it is, he has to be dedicated. He’s got a tough job and it doesn’t always require this level of dedication, hours wise. But he’s managing a small, but capable group of guys (two. two guys) and they have a lot of work to churn out for a very, very large, prestigious company. He’s got a lot to prove, and I can tell you this – he’s proving it.

And while I know I’m not always the nicest about him having to stay late at work, that’s merely because I’m pregnant and with three kids all day. Sometimes I have to remind myself that we all have to work, mine is just dealing with tiny humans, and yes it’s frustrating, but I signed up for it, as he did with his job. So I pout, mope and get over it. And then he waits until I go to bed to start working again because he doesn’t want to make me sad.

When I was growing up, I always thought I’d be a self sufficient woman. You know, I don’t need no man in my life, just someone to be my companion, but I’d keep my end of the money train up and do my share of work around the house.

And while I can carry my own, I love having a man like Matt around. I love being taken care of by him and not having to worry about the lawn, basic maintenance and finances. He’s killing it at work. And he’ll continue to grow in the company because that’s just the type of man he is. He won’t settle for less.

I always knew that I’d fall in love, but I seriously never expected to continue to fall in love with someone I’ve been with for nearly 9 years. That even after having so many kids, so many interruptions and living life day in and day out, I still can’t get over how much I do in fact love him.

Just the other day he was talking to me about taxes and boring numbers that he deals with every day with such enthusiasm and it suddenly hit me, that face, that person, he’s my husband. He trusts me unequivocally as I him. I love our relationship with everything I have.

So today, I’m so very thankful for my husband.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on November 14, 2012, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. He’s also just a really nice guy who sees two random photographers sitting alone at a table at a wedding rehearsal and makes small talk with them when he could be sitting with his wife. Whatta champ.

  2. Completely and totally wonderful. With some different details in there, I feel the same way about my hubby and find myself surprised constantly that I really did make the right choice for once. So happy for you, Cassie. 🙂

  3. I love this so much. You two really are perfect for each other. Way to kill it Matt!

Leave a Reply

