Day 25: Music

I love music. Most people do, so I’m not unique in this. Furthermore, I don’t pretend to like eclectic music. I just like what I like, which is 95% alternative. AltNation is pretty much the only station I listen to in the car, and it’s safe to say the kids know the lyrics to Of Monsters and Men – Little Talks.

Just yesterday, I had the Damien Rice Pandora station on (I also have it infused with Ryan Adams and David Gray) and Matt asked who was singing. I was about to say David Gray, but Claire beat me to it, by saying, “David Gray, right, Mommy?”

And she would have been correct.

When Maelie was a baby, the only way I could get her to sleep was by singing, ’til the Sun Turns Black by Ray LaMontagne. Even now, if a Ray song comes on, she’ll pause briefly before continuing on her way.

That said, I do love me a good trashy Britney Spears song. I am, in fact, a child of the 90’s. N’Sync? Yes, please. Sometimes I’ll use old songs like that for my core/lower half classes and they’ll laugh at me. One girl who is just 18 years old actually asked me who was singing the song, My Prerogative. Then again, it’s probably for the best that she has no idea who Bobby Brown is.

When I’ve had a particularly bad day, Jason Mraz seems to cheer me up. But not his new stuff. I still love him, but I’m not a huge fan as to where his music has turned into. Give me Live at Java Joe’s any day.

Oh, and Dave Matthews Band. Lately Grace is Gone is has been stuck in my head. Like, all day. I’ll sing to the kids, “Excuse me please, one more drink,” while pouring them their morning milk.

“Could you make it strong, cause I don’t need to think,” when they’re yelling at me.

“One more drink, and I’ll move on,” when they’re over my hugs.

I honestly think music is so important in everyone’s life. We have it playing in the house about 90% of the time that we’re in the house and the tv isn’t on. It’s so quiet here without it. Even as I type I have something playing – Dave and Tim Live at Radio City.

I also think it’s important for my kids. Just as school and reading and bike riding is important, good music is, too. I own exactly 2 kid cds and even then they never get played anymore. I, personally, can only take so much of that drek.  I remember once Claire had an obsession with this awful Disney cd we had that we got for free with her diapers. I got so sick of it once that I actually threw it out the window on the interstate. And this is coming from someone who felt the need to pay that 250 dollar fine for littering. (I’m such a tree hugger.)

When I was a kid, my mom would listen to the radio, sure, but when she’d have tapes in, it’d be the good stuff: Toad the Wet Sprocket, Bonnie Raitt, Fleetwood Mac, Aerosmith, and Queen.

That brings me back. Any time I hear the beginning of the cd Get a Grip, (you know, the burp) I’m taken back to living in Minnesota almost as if I never left.

I find music is an education. My one dad used to listen to Jazz 24/7. Well, the majority of the time. When it wasn’t John Coltrane or Satchmo, it was Gypsy Kings or Tom Waits. So I got quite the variety of musical education growing up. And my other dad had old vinyls of The Doors and The Beatles. We’d listen to Abbey Road like it was a religion.

I try to bring my musical tastes to my freestyle class, because RPM is required music, provided by Les Mills. Most of it is techno/pop music that just doesn’t do it for me. A few weeks ago I did mostly pop music for my freestyle class and they looked at me like I was crazy. They’re used to my rock/alternative style music. So this week I’m back to my old ways with the exception of a few tracks:

Phillip Phillips – Home
Band Of Skulls – I Know What I Am
Silversun Pickups – Panic Switch
The Neighbourhood – Female Robbery
Chevelle – The Red
AWOLNATION – Kill Your Heroes
Matt Nathanson – Bulletproof Weeks
Chris Brown – Forever
Fun. – We Are Young – feat. Janelle Monáe
Kylie Minogue – Can’t Get You Out Of My Head
Flo Rida – Club Can’t Handle Me – Feat. David Guetta
Rusted Root – Ecstasy
Crystal Fighters – At Home
Kate Nash – Nicest Thing

Tell me, what is it about that Phillip Phillips song? I mean, it’s totally not his style and stuff, but it’s so dang catchy. I’m not a fan of American Idol at all, and from what I’ve gathered, the songs they make them come out with as their first single are terrible, but this one is really cute.

The others, well, most are probably leaving you scratching your heads. I challenge you to pick a song and give it a try. The only one that may confuse people the most is the Chevelle song. We’re doing slow side plank things for that one, so I know the beat is slow, but it works for what I have planned. Also, the Matt Nathanson and Kate Nash songs are cool down for each class. Those are good songs, too.

I always love to hear what other people listen to. I find that music is a really big defining characteristic of some people. I’m sure most are not surprised at all to hear that I love alternative, yet loathe country. Who’s my favorite artist of all time? I can’t really say. If I had to pick based on the ability to be able to put a cd in and listen to it from start to finish, I’d say easy: Dave Matthews Band or Ray LaMontagne. But in the alternative world? I love old Linkin Park and Foster the People. I’ll still jam down to Catch 22 and The Used like I’m still 19, and if the mood strikes me, I’ll break out my old moves to N’Sync or Squirrel Nut Zippers. I’m also a sucker for good, solid classical music, too. (Didn’t see that one coming, did ya?)

It’s just what moves me.

And I’m thankful for knowing what I love and what makes me, me.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on November 25, 2012, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. The Used! That brings back some memories. I love this post. I remember you asking me which Pandora station I listened to the most. I knew you were judging me! 😉 I discovered Kate Nash via Pandora, and David Gray. And I keep forgetting to try out the Damien Rice station, so thanks for the reminder. I’m partial to Jack Johnson, Better Than Ezra, Norah Jones (which is who Sarah listened to when she was tiny to calm down) and good classics like Pink Floyd, The Beatles and Aerosmith thanks to my parents’ rocking good taste.

  2. What I love about music is how much some people define themselves by their taste in it. And if you’re a person who defines yourself by your taste in it, you almost universally think everyone else’s taste is worse. I technically know that Kamran’s taste is way cooler than mine, but I will defend mine as the best all day long. And when I meet people who don’t care about their taste or what it says about them, it blows my mind.

    I know a guy who has a DMB tattoo. Just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

