Days 26-29

For the past four days, I’ve had a lot to be thankful for. In no particular order it would be cashback rewards and Swagbucks, my mom, coconut oil and baking with my kids.

Cashback rewards and Swagbucks because they successfully paid for 75% of Christmas this year. Which is pretty kick ass. We’re not the type to go all out buying twenty gifts for the kids. Let’s face it – even if I wanted to, it’s not feasible with how many kids I have. We get them each one ‘big’ gift and then a few smaller things like books and art projects.

I mean, seriously, I don’t know how I can spend more than 30 bucks on my one year old. What does she possibly need? So I got her a super cape since she’s always using Claire and Luca’s. Hers has a glittery M on the back. Perfect! Luca’s getting more Legos and a Lego mat with roads and such on it. Claire is getting the most expensive gift, an Innotab 2, but it’ll help her with her reading and she’s eventually going to share it with her brother and sister and other baby, so why not, right? Plus, I got it for free with my swagbucks, so winning.

There’s plenty of things to say I’m thankful for when it comes to my mom, but this week, she came over one day while Matt was out of town, kept Mae with her while I went to the gym, made us dinner, got the kids ready for bed and kept me company. That is pretty dang awesome and I appreciated it all.

Coconut oil? Yes. I’m thankful for coconut oil. Not only is it great for my hair since I don’t do shampoo and stuff anymore, it’s great for Mae’s butt, any cut, scrape or abrasion we get around here (along with my beloved tea tree oil,) my leather couch, that squeak that’s been bothering us for months, and even body lotion. And it smells good.

There’s plenty other ways to use it, including putting it in your coffee for stomach issues and I’ve even heard weight loss, though I don’t know if there’s much truth to that.

Today, the kids and I finally used the butterfly cupcake kit my aunt Tracy got for us. Of course, when I opened it up, there was a hole in the mix and it had spilled everywhere (I’m going to assume Claire and/or Luca had something to do with that,) I used my own recipe, which is fine with me.

I love baking with the kids. They’re not always that helpful, but they’re enthusiastic and isn’t that all that counts?

When the cupcakes cooled, they got to decorate them.

Apparently it was a very serious business.

Extremely serious business.

Mae didn’t care. She just wanted to rip open the package of spice drops. She didn’t even like to eat them, just mangle the package.

But when it was done, it was a work of art to them, and weren’t they thrilled when I let them eat one at 9 in the morning?

I mean, they all still had bed head. And cupcakes. Best morning ever? I think so.

Mine turned out deliciously as well.

And I totally ate one, too.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on November 29, 2012, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Cupcakes for breakfast!

    Love that picture of Claire. She looks so grown up and beautiful, even while holding butterfly cupcakes.

  2. Now I want cupcakes …
    I love it when children look so serious concentrating on a task, and yours are adorable!
    And seriously, how do you manage to always write about things that I just read about and/or want to try, like coconut oil for different purposes? That’s kind of scary… Yesterday I used it as cream on my face and it smelled so yummy!

  3. Reminds me of how seriously we used to take decorating Christmas gingerbread men.

  4. This is hilarious, because when I read about Jessica and Mark giving up their Christmas gifts for Sarah, I was like, “LOSERS!” But now I’m imagining your kids without twenty gifts, and I’m tempted to send them mine. You know they’re going to love that whipped cream maker I asked for.

    Claire looks like effin’ Martha Stewart.

Leave a Reply

