’tis the season: Claire’s giving ’til it hurts

UPDATE: Claire and I have made a wishlist with Amazon.com for the ARL. If you want to give, but live far away, use our wishlist and it’ll get sent directly to our house, and we’ll directly donate it!

This holiday season, Claire got me thinking. We had already planned on doing a giant craft extravaganza where every day or so we do a craft or project in the effort to give it to a friend or family member as a gift. But what else?

She asked me a few weeks ago about wanting to go be a volunteer at the Animal Rescue League, which how sweet is that? I had told her I used to volunteer at our local humane society when I was a kid in a random conversation and she hadn’t gotten it out of her head.  But of course, while she may have a big heart, she’s five, so she can’t do that yet. However, I have a friend who is a volunteer at the ARL and she said that Claire may not be able to volunteer yet, she can donate.

So I told Claire that and she said, “Mommy. What if I told all my friends and they all donated and then the doggies and cats will have the best Christmas ever?”

And then I died.

So, friends, help out my five year old who has a huge heart. Here’s what they need:

  • Science Diet Dog/Puppy Food (dry or canned)
  • Science Diet Cat/Kitten Food (dry or canned)
  • Kitten Milk Replacer
  • Kitten Chow
  • Milkbone or Science Diet Dog/Puppy Treats
  • Science Diet Cat/Kitten Treats
  • Kongs, Nylanones and Hard Dog/Puppy Toys
  • Cat/Kitten Toys
  • Leashes
  • Martingale Collars
  • Stainless Steel Bowls
  • Non-clumping Kitty Litter
  • Dog Crates with Plastic Bottoms (especially large size)
  • Ceramic Cat Bowls
  • Paper Towels
  • Hand & Dish Soap
  • Bleach
  • Plastic/Poop Bags
  • Blankets
  • Original Dawn Liquid Dish Soap
  • Peanut Butter
  • Shower Curtain Liners

We’re collecting until December 20th so we can make the drop before the holidays. If you’re out of town and still want to help we can do one of two things, either send money for the ARL or money specific for a certain item. Like, five bucks for a big pack of paper towels.

And never fear, EVERY SINGLE PENNY that is sent my way will go DIRECTLY to the ARL, not my pockets. I doubt I could live with myself, and I’d also feel the scorn of a very giving five year old.

So whatddaya say? You in?

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on December 2, 2012, in Cassie and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. How about emailing me your address?

  2. I love Claire and I love animals. I’m so in.

    Another option for out of towners: Using Amazon Prime to have items delivered to your house for free in two days. I think I may give that a try. Give Claire a big hug for me.

  3. Where’s the part about Claire hurting that you mention in the title? That’s the part I want in on.

Leave a Reply

