Merry Christmas to me!

I was very scared today. I knew this day was coming for about a month, but I didn’t want it to come. I was so afraid that I’d get bad news and find myself set back to week 12 when I was on bed rest and told not to do anything but breathe and gestate.

After my last appointment at the OB, where she had to do an impromptu internal exam because I was measuring small and carrying so low, I was so afraid that I’d be carrying dangerously low and therefore not be able to continue on my normal life.

Instead, she said I was OK, baby was just burrowing, but not to the level of danger where I had to be worried about it, but wait and see what the ultrasound says and go from there.

Today was the ultrasound.

Matt had to stay home with the kids, so I had a lot of time to myself worrying and waiting.

I went to my hospital this time for the ultrasound instead of Magee and wasn’t I happy to see the woman who was going to do my ultrasound, was the same ultrasound tech who did my first ultrasound after my first big bleed. She was so kind then, I even remembered her last name. She had given me so much hope, told me that it was a huge bleed, but that I have a good chance of being perfectly fine and obviously she left a huge impression.

This time was no different. When I told her I remembered her, she said, “I remember you, too. You were one of the biggest bleeds I’ve seen, but you’ve come a long way, I see!”

The baby looked awesome, with full, chubby cheeks, and a perfectly beating heart. Ten tiny fingers, ten tiny toes. A perfectly formed belly and beautiful full lips.

Baby was measuring a little over 3 pounds and is in the 47th percentile for growth, which is just fine with me, and perfectly healthy.

Best of all? My SCH was gone.

GONE.

The ultrasound tech looked all over and nothing. Gone. Didn’t even look like it was ever there.

It’s December 26th and my Christmas gift came today. Baby is healthy, baby is growing and baby is no longer in danger of that nasty SCH.

Baby will be here in 9 weeks and I’m finally excited.

Though, baby can totally hang out on the inside for a bit longer.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on December 26, 2012, in Cassie and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. That’s wonderful news!!!! So happy for you and your family!

  2. That is an awesome present. Yeah!

  3. It surprises me not even a little bit that you effectively willed your bleed into submission. Way to go, Mama!

  4. That’s great! Now bring this baby down the home stretch! A little March Madness.

  5. Merry Christmas and Happy 2013! (Seriously, ultrasounds! So stressful! I mean, I get it, but after a few scary ones, you’re like, why am I doing this? Ignorance used to be bliss, didn’t it?)

  6. Yay! So happy to hear that nasty old bleed is gone. Baby ninja kicked it out of it’s house. Can’t wait to meet your perfect little baby.

  7. Yay, yay, yay and yay! Such good news! You and baby are a great team! So happy for you…

Leave a Reply

