Reason twenty why I’m ready for number four

The mind is a funny thing. It tells you what you can and can’t do, when quite honestly, the majority of the time, you can regardless. When I was crawling through the mud in the pit with rain pouring down during basic training, mouth full of dirt, hair matted down, sweaty and near tears, I looked up at the sky and let the rain wash my face. It’s just that simple sometimes. I found that moment to calm down and realize that life isn’t that damn difficult if I just put one foot in front of the other – or in this case, arm.

I’m not saying being a parent is a picnic. It isn’t. It’s truly hard work, and 99% mental. But when you have that rain in your face moment and realize that if you just stay consistent, give it your all and always be honest to yourself, sometimes it’s a little easier.

This morning a photo popped up on my side bar and remembered why I have the kids I have. Why I may complain about getting up ten times at night or having to do extra dishes or the fact that there’s nearly always someone hanging off of me.

And then I thought to myself, as I have many times in my life: life isn’t supposed to be so damn difficult. Live in the moment, complain when necessary, but always remember that the bottom line: I wouldn’t have it any other way.

7 18 09

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on January 7, 2013, in Cassie and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Matt’s so yoooooooung. Young enough that he was like, “I’m just going to pass out here, and maybe if I hold this kid’s hand, he won’t roll off he couch.”

    • My little Luca man! He was the sweetest little baby. He didn’t like being held a lot, but loved to have his hand held from time to time. Still does.

  2. This is so sweet. And you’re right. Sometimes you just have to take a deep breath, or tell your mind to be quiet and keep going. You’ll do great with #4.

  3. Here’s to living in the moment (and still being able to complain when necessary, which I am good at doing). Sometimes we need to be reminded of moments like that picture above to help put it in perspective.

Leave a Reply

