Finding Inspiration

It’s January. We all know what that means – New Year’s Resolutions. My usual Monday RPM class, where we typically have between 3 and 7 people, depending on the weather, was packed. Four of the people in the room were brand new. Therefore, they had no idea that their instructor was largely pregnant and a few gave me looks when I walked in the room that clearly said, “Oh, well at least this’ll be a bit easier.”

Yah, no.

We launched our newest release of RPM and this particular release is hard. Like, really hard. It’s like no other release we’ve ever done before. They’ve taken the basic format and threw it out and said, “This looks fun!”

Was it? It was! It as so fun that my 8 month pregnant butt rode 90% of it. (And then after that class went upstairs where I did another hour of teaching core and really hard lower half.)

If I could have taken a photo with my eyes of the new riders’ faces for a.) the way they looked after they finished all stunned-like and b.) the fact that I rode along side them for the majority of the class, I would. As they filtered out of the room, two of the new ones asked when I teach again (good sign!) and several others said, “Well, if she can…”

I was so high when I got home last night, so proud of myself for sticking to my plan of going until the baby came out, that when I talked to Matt, I gushed. I went on, and on, and on (and on) about how proud of myself I was. I’m not harming the baby at all. I’m just continuing on, doing my best, listening to my body and having a great time. I truly love my job.

To do something, anything, takes inspiration. We all find our inspiration in one place or another. Where do I find mine?

Here. (Taken from Lynn’s Weigh Facebook page.)

539183_10150993806510855_1022589365_n

My 4 (almost 5) year old granddaughter Claire and I biked 3.5 miles and hiked a quarter mile today. She had one complete wipe out and one near miss (she was distracted by water running down a cliff). She learned how to let others pass and how to pass others on the bike trail, but best of all, she never gave up. There have been many times on that trail (and others) that I’ve wanted to just turn around and go back, but next time I feel that way, I’ll remember what Claire said: “I can do it, Grammy! My legs only hurt a little.” 

Do you have a surprise inspiration like Claire?

Now 5, and running her first marathon, she continues to inspire me. Today she did 20 laps jogging around our house (inside) with a huge smile. “I’m training, Mama! I’m training for the doggies and kitties!”

Yup. She’s at it again. The Animal Rescue League personally asked her to run the Pittsburgh Kid’s Marathon for them. She had to raise a minimum of 25 dollars which she totally smashed in about five minutes. I posted a link on the right hand column, should you feel the urge to give again. I know most of you already did with the drive, and we still appreciate it very, very much. But she’s getting out the big eyes again so I’ll be donating again, I know it.

The kid’s marathon is a great concept for those who are completely unaware. No five year old can run a marathon, but over several weeks of running one or two miles, they compile every mile run to 25.2. When it’s race day, May 4th, she’ll do her final mile and turn in her running chart.

On top of that, she has to mark how many fruits and veggies she eats during the week.

Brilliant, right?

My sweet Claire helps me get my big belly on that bike every week (three times a week!)

Oh, that and the fact that I was nearing a two pack before I got pregnant this go around. That, too.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on January 8, 2013, in Cassie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I don’t know what to say – that kid of yours is so awesome! How could you not be inspired by her? I mean, seriously, she’s running a marathon! At 5 years old! (And I LOVE that concept they found for the kids – that’s awesome.)
    But, perhaps you inspired her first? You are pretty awesome, too. (Did I use the word awesome enough?! AWESOMEAWESOMEAWESOME…)

    • I love the word awesome, as it’s probably in 99% of my entries! She’s something else. I know that I have a lot to do with why she does what she does, and isn’t that the way it’s supposed to be? So I’ll take it! I’m just glad she finds it fun, and not a chore.

  2. What I find so neat is that your inspiration that you are finding elsewhere is originally from you. You inspire Claire and your class and then turn around and inspire you to keep going. You seriously are a phenomenal mom and woman. And you are right on for being proud and gushing. You should be! Claire is the sweetest, most thoughtful girl. I sure hope I can do half as good a job raising my son as you have with your kids. Honestly, some of the things I read stick with me because it’s just THAT sweet. I still can never forget Claire spending her money on buying Luca a cape. And all that she did for the rescued animals. It’s so heart warming. She’s going to be a major inspiration to others as she grows. You’ve got yourself an amazing child, Cassie.

    • This was the sweetest comment ever. Claire just lives to please, and while I know that some day at some point, it may come and bite her in the butt, for now, we teach her how to use that for good. Or try to at least!

  3. What a beautiful post. You and Claire both truly are inspirations. After all, 2 months after giving birth to Sarah I never would have imagined myself in compression shorts, spending my lunch hours at the gym if it weren’t for you. Give a hug to Claire for me and tell her how proud I am. I have a feeling this baby is going to me an exercise hound like his/her mom and sister!

    • I’m so proud of you for being at they gym! It takes a lot of hard work, sacrifice and dedication. If you don’t want it, then you wont’ make it happen.

      But sometimes, seeing those changes in the body, why wouldn’t you?

  4. You just inspired me to go to bed. Reading that was exhausting. You AND your kids are amazing. *kisses*

  5. I honestly can’t believe you’re still spinning at this point. I mean, I guess I know that your belly is smaller than most others I’ve seen, but I’m still picturing this GIGANTIC PREGNANT WOMAN atop her spin bike. And it is awesome.

Leave a Reply

