I think she’s got it!

I’m not up to date on the latest styles or trends, but I DO care about what I look like 70% of the time. I’m a naturalist when it comes to beauty products.

After my great calamine lotion discovery, my skin has never been better. I don’t even use a moisturizer anymore. How sick is that? I wash, dry, calamine, done.

I haven’t shampooed my hair in…how long has it been? Let me check. Hold on.

Alright, I checked. November of 2011.

I ain’t never going back, people. Never.

But a few months ago I started having issues with dry scalp. It wasn’t dandruff, it was just my scalp missed the sweet, sweet feeling of apple cider vinegar. Since it’s been well over a year, I don’t use the baking soda/ACV concoction any longer. Maybe once in a blue moon if my hair is oddly oily. Which, honestly, is never. I just rinse it with water when in the shower, give a good little scalp massage and move on. Every few weeks, if I remember, I’ll do a honey mask. That’s about it.

My hair was looking a little dry, which is kind of funny since all I do is sweat, I use no hair product…I rinse it daily, let it air dry and pull it back. But it’s just naturally me and I’m sure pregnancy hormones aren’t helping much either.

So dry scalp, dry hair.

I cured my dry scalp with a simple brown sugar scrub. Seriously. That’s it. Now it’s a thing of the past. Don’t waste your money on T-Gel, people. Why put all that chemical on your body when all you need is something you have in your pantry?

I guess you could say my New Year’s resolution is to take better care of my skin and hair. So far, so good, right? It’s the 15th and I’ve already solved one problem.

Enter Mae. I don’t shampoo the kids’ hair and it’s never proved to be a problem. Especially since Mae’s hair is dry in the back and shampoo would only make that worse.

She has this rat’s nest of hair in the back of her head. I’m serious. I had to cut it a few times because the ends were so fried that there was no way of smoothing it. I’ve tried everything, olive oil, honey, even *gasp* conditioner. Nothing worked. She’d wake up from nap time and her hair would just be a frazzled mess. Part of the problem was it is so thin and fragile.

I googled a lot of things. Finally, I found something I was willing to try for both myself and Mae.

And guess what? Her hair is cured. I even did the ultimate test, let her go take a nap with slightly damp hair. She woke up, it was still. smooth. STILL SMOOTH. Then this morning? Normal.

My hair? Looks fantastic again. It has a longer way to go than Mae’s but it’s well on it’s way.

What is it?

Greek yogurt and an egg.

photo (41)

Oh, and I also had a honey face mask on. (I do that once a week. Seriously, guys, amazing AMAZING results. Honey may be my new coconut and tea tree oils.)

She didn’t like it at first, because, let’s face it, the ingredients came from the fridge. That stuff was COLD.

But she ended up loving it.

photo (42)

 

I let it sit for 15 minutes, then just rinsed it out.

They recommend doing it a few times a week until it’s established, then do it one a week.

Yes, I will do this.

So. Let’s sum up all the things I do now.

I use a simple white sugar scrub to exfoliate every other week and use a baking soda scrub every other week:

A few spoonfuls of white sugar and a little water, scrub on, rinse off. (Same with baking soda. Make a simple paste.)

When I use my honey mask, I let it sit on my face for upwards of an hour. After, I use apple cider vinegar as a toner and coconut oil as a moisturizer.

I use brown sugar and a little water to exfoliate my scalp. (White sugar is too rough for the scalp.)

Typically when I wash my face, I use that Oil of Olay facial scrubber and Cetaphil, though I’m starting to phase away from that.  I use calamine lotion as my lotion.

I use a honey mask on my hair (for brunettes, use molasses, as honey can lighten your hair and molasses will bring out your brown tones.)

And now, I put a raw egg and greek yogurt on my hair, too.

I use coconut oil or almond oil as a body moisturizer and no, Ett, I don’t use coconut oil as a deodorant. Not yet, at least.

And it works!

How do you go ‘natural?’

 

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on January 15, 2013, in Cassie and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Thank you for all those great ideas! I will try some of these.

  2. You know, your post about the no ‘poo method made me comment for the first time back then!

    I tried the baking soda/ACV method, but since I already had some problems with dry scalp (and dry skin and a light form of neurodermatitis in general) it just got worse. I used rhassoul powder for almost a year and had no problems with my scalp, but my hair got really dry and damaged. I went back to shampoo and started to use it less and less – some weeks, I only have to wash it once. My plan is to “train” my scalp to produce less sebum and then try some different methods again.

    I always use honey as a moisturizer/facial mask, although not as long as you, just 10 min or so, and sometimes a mix of olive oil and salt or sugar to exfoliate my face. I normally wash it with a tea tree facial wash – for more than fifteen years now, and it mostly is enough.

    I do use a mixture of coconut oil, baking soda, tea tree oil and corn starch as a deodorant, although it took me more than a year to find the right mix and I went back to shop-bought deodorant a few times in between. For me, the solution was to use more tea tree oil and coconut oil than before, and now it finally finally works!

    If my scalp gets really itchy or a little bit inflamed, I use olive oil and some essential oils (rosemary, cedar…) – it helps with the itch and I use pure olive oil on the rest of the hair at the same time as a mask.

    Can’t remember anything else right now, although I do think I forgot something…

    What is calamine lotion? Do you have a link? The lotion part is where I struggle the most, sometimes honey just isn’t enough as a moisturizer. I have a witch hazel cream I use, but it’s a little bit on the oily side, and sometimes my skin doesn’t like that…

  3. So Greek yogurt and eggs for dry scalp? What’s the mix ratio? I have weened myself off of shampoo to about once a week, but I find I still need something or my hair smells bad. I run into the dry scalp problem during the winter though.

    • The greek yogurt and egg was more for the dry hair, not the scalp. I used brown sugar as a scrub for my scalp which seemed to work. Olive oil also helps for that.

      I wouldn’t recommend just going cold turkey, either. The baking soda/ACV combo helps with that. The ACV is great as a rinse alone for dry scalp, too.

  4. I’ve found that a belt sander and Turtle Wax give my dome that new-car sheen. Plus, the rain just beads up and runs off. Saving tons of money but not buying umbrellas.

Leave a Reply

