Let’s make a guess

Alright. I’m 11 days away from my due date, and I’ve been asked when we’re going to play the let’s guess my due date game.

So let’s play it, shall we?

You don’t win anything but the satisfaction of knowing that you were right. And for someone like me, that’s everything.

I’m now on the line of very pregnant in my mind. I finally believe it when people say subsequent pregnancies get more … uncomfortable? Fourth kid really makes things hurt just a bit more, eh? I may not look big, but I have a feeling this is going to be a long baby. It currently has its shoulder wedged in my sciatic which made for an extremely painful trip to Trader Joe’s. I’m fine if I’m sitting or walking, but the standing still doesn’t bode well. I did, however, choose an excellent time to go because we were in and out within 30 minutes.

And now I’m laying on my side on the couch, on a heating pad, while the kids watch a movie.

For the first time ever, I don’t feel guilty about that.

I’ll be fine in an hour or so, I just obviously got up on the wrong foot, or something. Also, waking up at 3 AM kind of throws a wrench into my day.

Enough with the complaining, let’s guess shall we?

In the past, I have always gone in the 39th week, which, begins Friday (the 22nd.) Multiple people in my family are pulling for me to go on the 26th because it’s my Grandpa Marty’s birthday. I’m cool with that. I’ve had the 27th pegged in my head for a while now, but I should also mention all my kids were born on a Friday or Thursday, and on an even number. (12, 22, 10.)

But this has been the least conventional child ever. So I’m 90% convinced this baby will throw all my past commonalities out the window.

If you want to, for fun, you can also take a guess as to what gender I’m having, since that ups your odds of being right, as it’s 50/50.

My favorite thing about people and guessing gender is that they usually have a reason why.

Here’s what I’ve heard so far:

“Well, you already have two girls, so of course it’s a boy so it’s even.”

“You’re carrying all in the front, so it’s a boy.”

“You eat a lot of dairy products, it must be a girl.”

“Your butt is getting bigger, must be a boy.” (Where in fact, I thought it was getting smaller. Damn.)

“Your hair is looking flat. That’s a girl stealing your beauty.”

“Your skin is a mess. Must be a girl.”

And then my ego is inflated by twenty. Insert sarcasm here.

It’s amazing the things people are willing to say about someone when we’re already feeling self conscious. I’m bloated, have a fat ass, my skin isn’t beautiful, and my hair is dull.

Thanks.

I just shake my head and wonder if the sperm had gotten the memo about all that stuff.

So, please refrain from saying that in the comments unless you want to be punched.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on February 18, 2013, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Sunday, February 24. I was going to say Monday, February 25 but I figured the thought of one more full week might be too much for you to bear. Baby boy, because I want the estrogen to have some balance in the house. I’m pulling for Matt and Luca!

  2. While I’m hoping for Feb. 26, Grammy’s guessing this Friday, the 22nd. It’s a he and he will be 7 pounds 2 ounces.

  3. Girl (even though I had a dream the other night it was a boy) on 2.25.13.

    For the record, Hadley says boy and Braxton says girl. One of us Lindstroms is bound to be right.

  4. My original guess was the 26th, but I could see this kid throwing a wrench in all your plans and coming on his due date. Yes, I think boy because of all the citrus (and because you’re stunningly gorgeous throughout your entire pregnancy. Seriously, those other people need to be punched). I’m guess a hearty 7lbs 8oz.

    Team Baby!

  5. Does my guess from a previous post count? I am sticking with that date, the 26th. I say a girl, but that was just a shot in the dark.

    Looking forward to reading about the blessed event and seeing photos. You’ve got this!

  6. I’m going to say boy and he will arrive on 2/23 and we will be b-day buddies forever.

  7. I am going to say March 1st because this baby has been a trouper and holding on in every other way :-). 7lbs 10oz dark haired (because everyone else is so fair) boy.

    BTW, you are the most ravishing active pregnant woman, so everyone else can just jump off a cliff :-).

  8. I’m not much one for guesses. But I’m a great guest writer. Here’s what you tell the next person that says your skin is bad and you have a big ass: “My hair and skin will clear up and my buns can crack walnuts right now. I’m pregnant. What’s your excuse?”

    Never doubt your awesomeness, dearie.

  9. Cassie Bear, Each child is bigger than the last, mine were that way. So this one will be 7lb. 15oz. a boy. You are a beautiful person and a wonderful and special granddaughter. Of course I am hoping for Feb. 26th..Love you, Grandma

  10. I say on the 28th, a girl, beautiful and strong like you!

  11. I am going to guess girl, and I am going to guess Feb. 27, even though it’s an odd Wednesday. You can name her after my mom, Loretta. 😉

Leave a Reply

