And then the bag broke

I went to the Giant Eagle Express to pick up a few items for dinner tonight.

I avoided it all day.

Finally, I realized I had only one option – and that was to go.

I packed up the four kids, and got on the road.

When we got out of the car and gathered a cart, a woman said, “Oh, that was me!”

I smiled and said, “I wish that made this easier!”

Then her daughter got out of the car and said, “Be glad you had them so close. My siblings and I are best friends.”

Again, I wish that made it easier.

We got our items in five minutes. The kids were fantastic.

But the lines were way out there.

We waited for 10 minutes. Then the guy in front of us decided he needed to buy four different kinds of cigarettes.

And then he says, no, ma’am, I said menthols. Wait, make it Marlboro instead. Yes, still menthols.

And then Mae tried to climb out of the cart.

And Audrey started to cry.

And Luca almost got his fingers stuck in the change return.

When our turn came along, the kids wanted to scan everything. No, I said. Just let me do it.

A 10 minute trip turned into 30 minutes.

And then, as we walked out, the bag broke.

If we’re keeping score, of course it’d be the bag with the eggs in it.

All the things – ALL THE THINGS – that could go wrong almost did.

At least dinner smells fantastic.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on March 21, 2013, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Wow. Just wow. Of course the bag would break. You are one resilient mama! I hope you have a beer tonight to celebrate this day (besides we know it helps with nursing or at least that was the word back in the day when I was nursing)!

  2. Ugh. Hope the dinner time was nice and calm, and I am sure it tasted as good as it smelled. I most definitely would have started to cry and/or shout at the kids, so kudos to you for keeping it together. Tough woman!

  3. I know it doesn’t help, but you impress me! And at least all the comments this time stayed away from the negative. Sorry your bag broke though. That sucks.

  4. And you will have the day when everything goes swimmingly, too. **hugs**

  5. I love that you have Giant Eagle there! Totally agree on the closeness of their ages, too. POWER THROUGH IT, woman. Only 18 more years to go!

  6. I don’t mind cooking or cleaning up, but I hate, hate, hate going to the grocery store. And I’m all by myself. Plus, I say, if they can’t sell liquor there, they shouldn’t be allowed to sell cigs there either.

    At least you can now drink after. Remember when you shopped while pregnant and had to drink like a Mormon?

Leave a Reply

